confusaque fungi

I don’t have the common or Latin names for the fungi shared below, so I trusted “Google Translate” with the Latin version of “assorted fungi,” and there it is, confusaque fungi….

Fungi from trail to Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir 1

This is only a handful of the images of fungi that I’ve made since Spring of this year.

Fungi from trail to Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir 2

They represent my forays into the canyons of the Wasatch Mountains and were found near the trails leading to places like –

Copa de Oro fungi from trail to Mt Aire

Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir, White Pine Lake, Mt Aire…

log fungi from Spruce's Campground

and Days Fork, the trail-head, of which, is located in the Spruces Campground, about eight or nine miles up into Big Cottonwood Canyon.

fungi from trail to Mt Aire

And if you’re interested, Mt Aire is in Millcreek Canyon, White Pine Lake is in Little Cottonwood Canyon…

toadstool fungi from Spruce's Campground

and Bells Canyon Upper Reservoir is located in…yep, Bells Canyon, just south of Little Cottonwood Canyon.

Fungi from trail to Days Fork

28 responses

  1. I love ’em! I’ll bet NH Garden Solutions will be able to identify most of them!

    November 9, 2013 at 7:03 am

    • I’m hoping he will…Allen’s wonderful like that! πŸ™‚

      November 9, 2013 at 7:05 am

  2. Beautiful pictures Scott. We don’t need Latin names, these lovely pictures will do nicely! πŸ˜‰

    November 9, 2013 at 11:43 am

    • I appreciate that, Adrian. πŸ™‚

      November 11, 2013 at 11:08 am

  3. The second from the last looks like a Horseshoe crab! Once again nature repeats itself. Beautiful photos!

    November 9, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    • It does seem to do that, doesn’t it, Bonnie? Thank you. πŸ™‚

      November 11, 2013 at 11:08 am

  4. That third one down is a great example of an orange cup fungus (Caloscypha fulgens)! I’ve never seen one in the woods. After that are bracket fungi, possibly young Trametes pubescens, but I’m not sure. That big brown one in the 6th shot looks like a bolete, but again I’m not sure of the species. It most likely had pores instead of gills on the underside of the cap.
    The cup fungi are a great find-we don’t see many of them around here, for some reason.

    November 9, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    • Thank you for the suggestions, Allen…I might have guessed the orange ones were some type of “cup fungus.” I thought I might have seen something about them at your place, but maybe not.

      November 11, 2013 at 11:10 am

  5. Many interesting funghi, Scott.

    November 9, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    • Yes, they are, Bente. πŸ™‚

      November 11, 2013 at 11:10 am

  6. Wow… now all you have to do is figure out which ones are edible. Yum! πŸ™‚

    November 9, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    • Hmm…I’ll stay away from that part of it, Gunta…will likely only trust the grocery store for the edible ones. πŸ™‚

      November 11, 2013 at 11:11 am

  7. . . . I like fun guys . . .

    November 9, 2013 at 11:21 pm

  8. I love all those mushrooms in the fall

    November 10, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    • They were nice finds out there, Yvonne.

      November 11, 2013 at 11:12 am

  9. Nice job on these. Fungi are not as easy to shoot as might seem.

    November 11, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    • Thank you, Rachael.

      November 14, 2013 at 6:36 am

  10. LB

    I love that little orange cupped fungi in picture #3. Confusaque fungi – awesome!

    November 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    • Thanks, LB…I thought the orange one was rather neat, as well.

      November 14, 2013 at 6:36 am

  11. I feel the autumn in these pictures. Nice shots.

    November 11, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    • Thank you, Lautal…it is very much there.

      November 14, 2013 at 6:37 am

  12. Fascinating and beautiful. The photography is excellent. Beautiful post.

    November 13, 2013 at 5:12 am

    • Thank you very much, Shimon.

      November 14, 2013 at 6:37 am

  13. I love mushrooms when they surprise me … and they always do, don’t they! There is something mysterious and magic about them. These are wonderful photographs of them too. Little Cottonwood is my canyon, you know…

    November 14, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    • I hadn’t thought of that, George, but yes, they usually do surprise us…they are just suddenly there. Thank you for your kind words, my friend…and yes, I know that you love Little Cottonwood Canyon…and I think that’s wonderful. πŸ™‚

      November 18, 2013 at 7:06 am

  14. SUPER!

    November 18, 2013 at 7:12 am

    • Thank you, Alois!

      November 18, 2013 at 8:14 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

