Revisiting the Trail-side Tree-house….

My older son and I were hiking the Desolation Trail back in July of this year and happened to visit the tree-house that I featured in this post, Trail-side Tree-housefrom June of last year.  You might remember the little purple door in the base of tree?  Well, it looks like someone has done a little bit of renovation or remodeling in the last year and some months….

Desolation Trail shrine 1

Here’s another view from a little more to the right….

Desolation Trail shrine 2

Nobody answered when we knocked on the door….

Desolation Trail Shrine with purple door

My son noticed this little lock-box hanging in the branches on the left side of the tree…and among other things, there was a little notebook inside.

Desolation Trail shrine safe

“Peace of the breeze…joy of the sun….”

Desolation Trail shrine notepad 1

“There’s no wi-fi out here, but I promise you, the connection is much better.”

Desolation Trail shrine notepad 2

Many of the other entries pertained to people remembering their dogs who have passed over the years, but who loved to join their human companions out on the trails of Millcreek Canyon.

24 responses

  1. Did you add anything to either the collection or the writing?

    December 5, 2013 at 6:45 am

    • No, we didn’t contribute to either. The stop wasn’t planned, and once we did stop, we were more in the “observe” mindset….

      December 10, 2013 at 6:28 pm

  2. Love this.

    December 5, 2013 at 8:18 am

    • It is rather nice, Audrey.

      December 10, 2013 at 6:28 pm

  3. I’ve seen some strange things in the woods, but I think this beats them all.

    December 5, 2013 at 8:35 am

    • It’s certainly different. 🙂

      December 10, 2013 at 6:29 pm

  4. settleandchase

    I like it, and I’m scared of it, all at the same time 🙂

    December 5, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • Do you have a bit of the mystic about you, Cath? 🙂

      December 10, 2013 at 6:29 pm

  5. I totally love this! I’m glad to see free spirits roaming the hills of SLC…. who would have thunk? (I’ll second the question: did you leave a bit of you?)

    December 5, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • There are some rather free spirits out there, Gunta…very much so. And no…didn’t leave anything behind…just snapped some photos and took them with me. I’ve added my name and some other words to a couple of “summit logs” that I’ve found throughout the Wasatch, but not this one….didn’t even think about it, really.

      December 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm

  6. Lovely post! There’s no wi-fi here but the connection is greater …. how true!

    December 6, 2013 at 9:37 am

    • I rather enjoyed that one, too, Dreams and Zeros. 🙂

      December 10, 2013 at 6:32 pm

  7. Very interesting place, all very sweet Scott.

    December 7, 2013 at 1:08 am

    • I’m glad you liked it, Adrian…a softer touch in the Wasatch. 🙂

      December 10, 2013 at 6:32 pm

  8. poppytump

    I like this idea 🙂

    December 7, 2013 at 4:23 am

    • It’s something that one might enjoy copying/repeating somewhere…. 🙂

      December 10, 2013 at 6:36 pm

  9. Really really love this tree!!

    December 7, 2013 at 8:09 am

    • It’s rather special, isn’t it?

      December 10, 2013 at 6:36 pm

  10. Very cool. I like the choices of quotes so much. It’s amazing to find things like this. In the east I hardly every saw these spontaneous outdoor assemblages, but here out west I see them regularly. Not as elaborate as this though! This one’s an inspiration for Christmas!

    December 7, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    • I have found some decorated firs along the trails out here…it’s very surprising to come upon them, out in the woods like that, bulbs and garlands…quite nice, too.

      December 10, 2013 at 6:38 pm

  11. I like the connection…

    December 11, 2013 at 6:37 am

    • It’s the kind I prefer, as well.

      December 12, 2013 at 6:33 am

  12. kaitlyntorres333@yahoo.com

    I recently came across this little shrine and was wondering about it…is there any other info that you have come across in regards to this shrine? I noticed some photos are now hanging from the branches but wasn’t sure if it was in remembrance or not?

    October 30, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    • Hello Kaitlyn, I’ve never seen anything “official” about it, but some of the entries in the little books inside that box that looks like a safe suggest that it might be a shrine or memorial for someone’s pet…but I’m not sure.

      October 31, 2015 at 8:34 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

