City Paint 15 – Korner Market Mural – 2013

If you’ve been following this blog for some time, you might remember the earlier posts on the Korner Market’s murals…City Paint – 3 2012…The End? and City Paint 12.2 – 2020…Perfect Vision – Mural Complete. I realize that it’s a little late in the year and that the mural has been completed for a few months already…with next year’s remake only another four or five months away, but here’s 2013’s rendition.  I’ve not been able to determine the theme and have not spoken with the Korner Market staff to learn more about it, so maybe you’ll have some ideas for us.  To see the images in a larger presentation, click on any of them to be taken to a slide-show of the photos.

I’d like to give credit to the artists who created the work, but can’t decipher any of the names that might be hidden in the script on the mural.  I would imagine that at least some of the artists who contributed to the earlier murals also helped create this one, but I’m not sure, so I’m not going to list any names.

You can click on the highlighted titles above to be taken back to the earlier posts.  If you’d like to see more of Salt Lake City’s street art and graffiti, you can scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Category labeled “Street Art – Graffiti” to see a continuous feed of all of the earlier posts.

20 responses

  1. What a fascinating mural.

    December 11, 2013 at 7:19 am

    • And curious, too.

      December 12, 2013 at 6:38 am

  2. What an incredible mural! Amazing artist(s)!

    December 11, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • Yes, the artists are very talented, aren’t they?

      December 12, 2013 at 6:38 am

  3. EvaUhu

    Fascinating!

    December 11, 2013 at 8:33 am

    • Very much so, Eva.

      December 12, 2013 at 6:39 am

  4. The theme is “I’m trying too hard, and throwing everything I can think of at this wall”.

    Seriously, I like the designs, but I think many of these artists try too hard to show something striking. I prefer, as you know, straight forward stuff . . . if I have to hunt for a meaning, theme, or message, sorry, but they’ve already lost me.

    But, again, the details are very good.

    December 11, 2013 at 10:22 am

    • When I spoke with the Korner Market staff last year…or the year before…they said that they take theme suggestions from the public and the local businesses that contribute to, or sponsor the mural…so I want to say that there really *is* a theme here…but I agree, it should be obvious. I’ll go ask….

      December 12, 2013 at 6:43 am

  5. A wonderful mural. Thank you Scott for sharing and I am wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas from Me and my family. Your friendship has meant a lot to me this past year. Kat

    December 11, 2013 at 11:58 am

    • Thank you, Kat…I wish you the best for the holidays.

      December 12, 2013 at 6:43 am

  6. Could be a stretch, but I get a sense of apocalypse with the deadly mushrooms, the hornet-drone thing and a whole lot of chaos. Pretty powerful impact whatever they’re trying to get across.

    December 11, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    • Yes, it has a rather striking impact, doesn’t it? They did the 2012 end of the world thing two years ago, 2020 and looking toward the future thing last year…and an apocalypse thing now? I guess they don’t like what the future holds, after-all. 😉

      December 12, 2013 at 6:46 am

  7. I’m not sure how the whale fits in, but you’ve got some very talented people there. The red eyed rat reminds me of Mad Magazine.

    December 12, 2013 at 4:26 am

    • Yeah, the whale and the rhino…whose nose/horn looks like a great-white shark opening its mouth….and yes, lots of talent.

      December 12, 2013 at 6:47 am

  8. Amazing fresco

    December 12, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    • Yep…it’s pretty neat. I don’t mind the light-post, but it would be nice if they’d put their garbage cans somewhere else when I want to make photos of their mural. 🙂

      December 15, 2013 at 7:59 am

  9. poppytump

    Vivid talented work . I have the feeling some of these scenes might have been imagined by the Hookah Smoking Caterpillar in Alice in Wonderland 😉

    December 15, 2013 at 3:01 am

    • I think you’re right, PT. 🙂

      December 15, 2013 at 8:00 am

  10. Beautiful art

    December 15, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

