Late Fall in Little Cottonwood Canyon

After only a fifteen-minute drive from my neighborhood, I was off on another adventure into the woods of Little Cottonwood Canyon.  You might have seen similar images over the last couple of years, but it’s that time of year again when the cold and water combine to make some beautiful and natural art in the out-of-doors.  You can click on any image from the gallery to be taken to the slide presentation that has larger renditions of each photograph.

14 responses

  1. You have created a very nice selection for us to enjoy……fall has gone here and we are in that in-between period prior to frost and /or snow…just a bit drab and grey and a trifle damp.

    December 16, 2013 at 9:47 am

    • Thank you, David…seems the weather is a fickle thing…the forecasters told us yesterday morning that it might drizzle snow all day and accumulate about an inch…well they were correct…it did snow all day…and we have close to nine inches of snow at our house…we’re past that in-between period, it seems. Stay warm…..

      December 20, 2013 at 6:34 am

  2. Looks like a place I, too, would visit again and again! Lovely set of images. I especially like the ones of the ice. There will be plenty of snow pictures in my next post!

    December 16, 2013 at 11:48 am

    • It is so close and so inviting, it’s hard not to be there often. I’ll look forward to visiting with you and your snow…. 🙂

      December 20, 2013 at 6:35 am

  3. I’d like to spend about a week exploring that area. I like the ruins and the ice. As long as the ice stays in Utah-we have plenty.

    December 16, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    • I’m usually there for several hours…I went off trail this past time on the opposite side of the stream. Had only been over there once in the past, just south of the ruins, and followed a faint trail way up into another gulch…. I found signs of the old mining activity, pieces of power poles and ceramic resistors, old moss-covered rocks still in the shapes of the fire-rings…all kinds of wonderful things….and yes, like you, I’d love to have full days for at least a week to completely (?) explore the area…..

      December 20, 2013 at 7:58 am

  4. No matter the season, you surely find some awesome images!

    December 16, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    • Thank you, dear Gunta……..and so do you, so it must be the company I keep. 🙂

      December 20, 2013 at 7:59 am

  5. If you only have to drive fifteen minutes to get to that trail access, you certainly live in the right neighborhood!

    December 16, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    • I agree, Terry. 🙂

      December 20, 2013 at 7:59 am

  6. I agree with montucky too ;-). Love the photos.

    December 20, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    • Thank you, Yvonne…it’s always fun to share the little treasures from my hikes. 🙂

      December 20, 2013 at 12:23 pm

  7. Nut Balls

    I really like how you put this collage together. I do miss that place so very much….

    December 23, 2013 at 7:33 am

    • I think the collage works better than a continuous scroll of the images on a post…seems more pleasing to the eye…to mine anyway. 🙂

      And I think the place might miss you very much, too……I know I do…. 🙂

      December 23, 2013 at 8:16 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

