Scofield Horse Barn

You might remember that my little one and I went fishing up near Scofield Reservoir this past summer. ย You might also remember that all of the fish were safe when we left…but that we brought home some images of the Rocky Mountain Bee Plant, some other images of water-fowl, an image of the Scofield cemetery, and now some images of an abandoned barn.

You can click on those highlighted names if you’d like to visit the other posts, otherwise, you can click on any image below to be taken to a gallery presentation of these photos of the Scofield horse barn.

25 responses

  1. Beautiful pictures Scott, I love the barbed wire fences..! ๐Ÿ™‚

    January 27, 2014 at 7:40 am

    • Thank you, Adrian…I’m quite fond of them, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      January 27, 2014 at 8:01 am

  2. Your pictures are just lovely!. Hope you have many such happy trips with your little one.

    January 27, 2014 at 8:56 am

    • Thank you, MFF…we do enjoy our time out exploring together.

      January 29, 2014 at 7:23 am

  3. Simply beautiful!

    January 27, 2014 at 8:57 am

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      January 29, 2014 at 7:24 am

  4. That’s one rather sad looking barn, but such great images!

    January 27, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    • It sure is…and if we weren’t so close to the road…with my little one standing there next to the truck…I would have ventured inside to have a more complete look at things. Thank you, Gunta. ๐Ÿ™‚

      January 29, 2014 at 7:27 am

  5. I can see me living there . . . but I would keep people from coming up and snapping pictures.

    January 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    • Well…maybe you shouldn’t leave the gate unlocked, then…a simple chain without a lock just wasn’t enough…I probably wouldn’t have jumped the fence, but the unsecured gate was too easy to pass up….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      January 29, 2014 at 7:31 am

  6. It’s too bad to see something someone put so much work into just rotting away, but it does make for some scenic photos.

    January 27, 2014 at 4:13 pm

    • I’m kind of surprised that it’s still standing…but then there were several other buildings in the area that were still up when they had obviously been abandoned or in disuse for quite a long time.

      January 29, 2014 at 7:51 am

  7. I’m with Adrian (Chillbrook) on the wire fences that you’ve included in the foregrounds of your landscapes. Fine flashbacks to warmer times!

    January 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    • It was a near-chilly day with drizzling rain off and on, but yes, definitely a warmer season…and I’m rather fond of those old fences, too….thanks, Gary.

      January 29, 2014 at 7:53 am

  8. Looks to be a very peaceful place, Scott. Love those close-ups of the fencing near the sides of the barn.

    January 28, 2014 at 9:37 am

    • It was very peaceful out there, Andy. I would have loved to have had the chance to wander those fields for a while…..

      January 29, 2014 at 7:54 am

  9. Liana

    I actually gasped a bit to see the green and flowers and fences … and a barn! it warms me up on this polar-vortexed world

    January 28, 2014 at 10:28 am

    • I’m glad it warmed you up a bit, Liana…I know you’re in the deep-freeze up there….

      January 29, 2014 at 7:55 am

  10. Wow such a diversity of viewpoints……and a totally dimensional experience. Some beautiful colours, but also some potential for some cracking monos as well. Scott, you have a compositional approach par excellence and I love bottom left particularly. Memorable.

    January 29, 2014 at 6:45 am

    • Thank you for your kind words and encouragement, John. I’ll go back and look at these again and see what I can do with the black and white. I’m glad you liked that bottom left image, too. I’ve had it sitting on my desktop for several months all by itself and would visit it frequently…I’m rather fond of it myself….thank you again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      January 29, 2014 at 7:58 am

  11. Lobo Photography

    Nice series.

    January 31, 2014 at 7:20 am

    • Thanks, Lobo….

      February 3, 2014 at 6:27 pm

  12. Gorgeous photos, and so refreshing to see in the winter – the meadows WILL return to green and gold, yes?

    February 1, 2014 at 10:32 am

    • Yes…they WILL turn green and gold again, Lynn….. And thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      February 3, 2014 at 6:28 pm

  13. Great picture. I grew up on a Scottish farm and adore old broken down barns. I took some pictures of them in Canada recently – you’ve inspired me to see how they look in black and white. Thanks.

    March 9, 2014 at 7:57 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

