Bougainvillea

I would say that I know this creature intimately, but that might bring to mind thoughts of romance and love, and while there was a lot of fighting, cutting, scratching, and bleeding between myself and the 19 bushes that I had in my yard for almost two decades, there wasn’t a lot of romance involved. Β I will admit, however, in spite of the scars that I still carry from our lengthy affair, that I do find the Bougainvillea to be quite beautiful…and worthy of more than a little bit of love….

Anyway…I made this image while visiting family in Arizona this past October. Β The flowers are actually the small white structures in the center of the modified pink leaves. Β If you’d like the complete Wiki rundown, you can click here for more info.

Bougainvillea

32 responses

  1. Hmm. . . drought tolerant; I’ll check it out.

    It does have a pretty flower.

    April 3, 2014 at 9:20 am

    • Yes…but I don’t know how it will/would do with your extreme freezing temps up/over there…..

      April 3, 2014 at 9:24 am

  2. Lovely. We have three colors of this creeper in my house. It has grown taller than the building ( more than 20 feet) and does give headache while trimming. But we love them.

    April 3, 2014 at 9:24 am

    • We also had three colors at our house in Arizona, Pattu…and while I do hope to have them again in my yard sometime, I don’t think I’ll have quite as many….given the trimming headache!

      April 3, 2014 at 9:26 am

  3. It mentions it does well in pots . . . I’m thinking it overwinters inside with some of the other plants (after a good trimming).

    April 3, 2014 at 10:43 am

    • That might do it…I’ve seen them thriving in pots….

      April 3, 2014 at 1:08 pm

  4. I enjoyed your commentary Scott. This isn’t a plant I know. It certainly doesn’t suit the Cornish climate but you do find it extensively in Southern Europe and it is very beautiful.

    April 3, 2014 at 11:36 am

    • I was surprised to read that it was in southern Europe…thought it needed the constant warmth of the desert or tropical areas.

      April 9, 2014 at 9:39 pm

  5. I always associate this plant with Spain. It is beautiful. I have a similar relationship with the roses in our garden.

    April 3, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    • I’m sure it would look lovely in Spain…and Greece, too, if it’s there, as well. And yes, I would imagine that one could have a similar relationship with roses…given their thorny nature. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:40 pm

  6. They really are a beautiful plant. I wish we could grow it outdoors here but I doubt it would live through the first winter.

    April 3, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    • I don’t think it would last here in northern Utah, either, Allen.

      April 9, 2014 at 9:41 pm

  7. I love bougainvillea but sadly it doesn’t survive in our climate. I have a little packet of the petal/leaves here, picked up from the ground in Lanzarote in the summer. Lovely πŸ™‚

    April 3, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    • Oh, I could have filled several packets for you over the years…over just one year, even. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:42 pm

  8. Beautiful Scott. Reminds me of when I lived in Hawaii…. they were everywhere.

    April 4, 2014 at 11:14 am

    • I can imagine that they would do perfectly well over there, Erica…and look wonderful, too.

      April 9, 2014 at 9:42 pm

  9. But so worth the torture, Scott! Gorgeous blossoms!

    April 4, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    • Hmmm….and yes, what torture sometimes. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:43 pm

  10. My mom had one of these in front of her bedroom window. She finally had it taken out when it tried to eat the house. πŸ˜€
    Very lovely shot!

    April 4, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…we had one that almost swallowed the front yard, so I can imagine it would have been quite huge to have almost eaten a house. πŸ˜‰

      April 9, 2014 at 9:44 pm

  11. This is such a beautiful plant, Scott. Shame that beauty comes with thorns.

    April 5, 2014 at 1:57 am

    • Yes, it is, Andy…and yes, it does, sometimes, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:45 pm

  12. Oh, what a refreshingly attractive, colorful image, full of promise, for early spring.

    April 6, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    • Full of promise, indeed, Lynn. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:45 pm

  13. There’s a plant that can give us pause to enjoy it.

    April 7, 2014 at 8:53 am

    • It certainly can, Shimon….and I would imagine that it would do quite well in your part of the world, as well.

      April 9, 2014 at 9:46 pm

      • Yes, we enjoy that plant very much, and it is popular in Jerusalem.

        April 9, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        • I thought it might be….

          April 11, 2014 at 6:58 am

  14. LB

    Those leaves look so delicate, and the color of both leaf and flower, beautiful!
    19 bushes! That was quite the battle!

    April 7, 2014 at 10:42 am

    • They are so very beautiful, LB…and yes, it was an incredible battle. πŸ™‚

      April 9, 2014 at 9:46 pm

  15. Beautiful capture. We grow one in a pot, inside in the winter, and outside in late spring and summer. It flowers, but I wish we could grow bushes of them like you do.

    April 11, 2014 at 7:12 am

    • Hello Nguyen…I can imagine that they would be very beautiful in your home country…and very nice, too, in a pot in your American home, as well. Thank you for stopping-by and for the comment, letting me know that you were here. πŸ™‚

      April 11, 2014 at 8:41 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

