winds of change….

There are all kinds of witty and hackneyed sayings and cliches about Change that I could use to introduce this post, but I will pass on all of that and just get right to the subject…my time in the Wasatch is quickly coming to an end.  My family and I will be returning to the desert of Arizona and I will soon be embracing the challenge of viewing that desert through a camera lens…looking for and capturing a different beauty that I know is out there.  While I will be living in a different location than the one I featured in my post Tribute to the Desert, from October of last year, I hope to find a similar desert-ed wonderfulness nearby…or within a not-too-long drive, anyway.

Clouds rolling over Stansbury Mountains and plains

I made this image in late February of this year as I was exploring the area west of Salt Lake City, Utah…beyond the Oquirrh Mountains.  It is looking south and east from the side of a road.  Those are the Stansbury Mountains off to the right…so The Great Salt Lake is a few miles behind us as we stand here admiring the unusual clouds and plains and snow-covered mountains…..

26 responses

  1. Job related move, or just liking Arizona?

    May 2, 2014 at 10:37 am

    • Going “home,” something like that….

      May 2, 2014 at 10:46 am

  2. Oh, on the move again. Best wishes to you and your family, Scott.
    A new photographic ‘playground’ to work with! 🙂

    Great drama in that big sky.

    May 2, 2014 at 11:57 am

    • Yes, Karen….on the move again…and, although somewhat reluctantly, I am looking forward to exploring that new photographic playground. Thank you for the best wishes…..

      May 7, 2014 at 6:57 am

  3. Perfect shot of a weather front there Scott. Smashing photo!

    May 2, 2014 at 11:58 am

    • Thank you, Adrian….I thought the cloud curls were rather interesting.

      May 7, 2014 at 6:58 am

  4. Wow. A magnificent view. Will be thinking of you and your family, and the return “home.” 🙂

    May 2, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    • It was wonderful to behold in person, Lemony….and thank you for your kind thoughts with our return home. 🙂

      May 7, 2014 at 6:59 am

  5. Gotta be hard leaving scenes like the above, but know you’ll make the best of it…. wishing you and yours all you might hope and wish for. :/

    May 2, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    • Yes, it certainly is, Gunta, but I’ll be looking for more scenes like this down in the desert. I appreciate your thoughts…..

      May 7, 2014 at 7:00 am

  6. I hope your move is a good one. It must be hard to leave those mountains and meadows.

    May 2, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    • Thank you, Allen…it’s been difficult accepting the upcoming change…but I didn’t do much exploring when I lived there in the past, so it’s going to be a new experience.

      May 7, 2014 at 7:02 am

  7. I hope that you have a good move, Scott. There is much beauty in the Sonoran Desert, too.

    May 2, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    • Thank you, Terry….when processing this move, I’ve often thought of your words about the desert and the Rim Country of Arizona. I hope to be sharing some images of them in the near future.

      May 7, 2014 at 7:04 am

      • I will look forward to your photos. I miss the desert very much!

        May 9, 2014 at 10:50 am

        • I shall be diligent, then, in stepping-up to the task, Terry. 🙂

          May 12, 2014 at 8:43 am

  8. I know that you will miss those hikes in the mountains, Scott. It has been a memorable experience sharing those wonderful views through the seasons and I feel that I’ve really come to know the place through your photography, so thanks for the sharing. Very best wishes to you and yours for the move. I am looking forward to sharing your experiences of your new world before too long. Best regards.

    May 4, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    • Thank you for your words, dear John…they’ve been pulling on my heart for these several days and it’s been difficult to address them here. You are most welcome for sharing my world…it’s been a fantastic pleasure to have you along with me as I explored and discovered the mountains and canyons near my Utah home. Thank you for your well-wishes, too, for me and my family…and I shall do my best to bring you another view of the American West…from the mountains and deserts of Arizona.

      May 13, 2014 at 6:54 am

  9. I know you’re going to miss Utah. You certainly came to know it! I hope the move isn’t crazy, or at least not any crazier than it has to be, and that you settle in without too much difficulty. Of course, I look forward to your desert views, very much!

    May 5, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    • I am going to miss it incredibly, Lynn….thank you for your words. 🙂

      May 13, 2014 at 6:56 am

  10. I know that there are many different faces to home, and going home can bring a lot of mixed feelings. But in my own life, it has brought great strength and a settling of thoughts and emotions… a stability that allowed me to do some of my finest work. I wish all of that for you, Scott. I missed this post when it came out, because my own life has been a little hectic and overflowing lately… but there was a hint in something I read this evening, and I went looking. So far as your creative abilities are concerned, I have little doubt that you will find inspiration, and many new scenes and situations to study, even on familiar ground. One day soon, you might even see your many travels and hikes, and temporary homes as paths to a deeper understanding of the home you came from. With my best wishes.

    May 17, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    • I’m very happy that I can bring you with me when I go “home,” Shimon…I so enjoy your words. Thank you for your encouragement, for your insight….and for your friendship. I know the echoes of your words will be with me when I’m out exploring those new, yet familiar lands….

      May 23, 2014 at 11:29 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

