last saturday

After I trimmed the overgrown rose bush last evening, I had planned to cut the grass this morning.  I had already mowed the front yard, but still needed to do the much larger back yard…for the last time.  The weather forecast said it was going to be partly cloudy today, so I was looking forward to completing the chores in a bit of a cooler morning.

Well…it is much cooler…and the lawn-mower is still in the garage…where it needs to be when the late-spring rains come visiting in northern Utah.  I have been to the store already and completed my weekly shopping…everything is in the cupboards…the dogs’ food bowl is refilled and they have already consumed their snacks and are sleeping somewhere in the house…as is the rest of the family.

It’s been more than a couple of years since I’ve made pancakes in a pan on the stove…I am more in the habit of using an electric griddle…or of making waffles with a waffle-iron…but the griddle and waffle-iron are in boxes already, packed and prepared for the upcoming move to Phoenix…so it was the frying pan and pancake mix this morning…soft and sad music from Stephan Moccio playing on Pandora…the sound of falling rain coming in through the open windows and back door…and warm cinnamon and nutmeg wafting up from the stove-top….

During my pancake preparations, it dawned on me that this is my last Saturday in Utah…we will be packed and driving away next Friday morning and next Saturday will find us unpacking and living in Arizona again.  The words “last Saturday” reminded me of a folder of photos I have in my files that is titled, “First Saturday,” the photographic journal that I created on my very first Saturday living here in Utah…September 11, 2010.  Below is one of the images from that outing…looking up into Bells Canyon from the southern edge of the lower reservoir.  You might remember some of my later photos from hiking in the area, as I found myself in that location probably close to two dozen times over the past almost four years.  Well…I guess you could say this is where it all started….

Bells Canyon First Saturday 9-11-2010

Well, crap…I just hit the Publish button when I meant to hit the Preview button…so maybe you’re looking at this post in it’s incomplete stage…or maybe…I don’t know…anyway.  I’ll continue like nothing happened….

So…some final images from my last Saturday here in Utah…the cloud covered mountains…fresh pancakes that turned-out ok after I burned the first set…snow-boots on the floor by the back-door that will likely never see snow again…and the paddle from an Arizona wind-chime, with a cloudy Twin Peaks in the background, that will soon be returning to Arizona….

 

38 responses

  1. Poignant post Scott.

    May 24, 2014 at 11:01 am

    • Lots of thoughts and emotions clashing and crashing among the pancake vapors that morning…. You’re still here, though…..thank you, Mike.

      June 3, 2014 at 8:03 am

      • You and I will be friends until I die. Would be nice to spend some time with you.

        June 3, 2014 at 9:02 am

        • My brother…and yes, that would be very nice, Mike.

          June 4, 2014 at 9:47 am

  2. Sigh… this one is rather touching. Poignant as Mike put it.

    May 24, 2014 at 11:35 am

    • Thank you, Gunta….day three in the desert….. 😉

      June 3, 2014 at 8:04 am

  3. If one is to mark milestones in one’s life, pancakes and waffles are a good choice.

    May 24, 2014 at 11:57 am

    • I appreciate your perspective, Emilio.

      June 3, 2014 at 8:04 am

  4. Your words and pictures make one really feel this transitional event; so evocative. The view through the windows is especially poignant, I think.

    May 24, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    • Thank you, Meanderer…it’s all new horizons now…we’ll see what I can find…. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:05 am

  5. Liana

    …lump in my throat. umm, gee…. I’ve never felt sad about pancakes before… this is new

    May 24, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    • New experiences all over the place, now……thanks, lady.

      June 3, 2014 at 8:06 am

  6. A very moving post Scott! Doors close, others open.. it’s the way of things. I know you’ll miss Utah, but Phoenix and a whole new set of adventures await.. I’m looking forward to first Saturday, Phoenix 2014! 🙂

    May 24, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    • My first Saturday found me wading through the back of two moving trucks in the withering heat….I’ll see what I can do with the second one. I appreciate your thoughts, Adrian. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:09 am

  7. I can’t think of a single time I’ve moved that I could say was fun. Once it’s over things will start looking up, I’m sure.

    May 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    • Thank you, Allen….working on the transition now….

      June 3, 2014 at 8:10 am

  8. A beautiful tribute. I know you have loved Utah and will miss it. But I trust you’ll find many amazing things to show us in your new/old habitat. Have a good trip and take care!

    May 25, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    • Thank you, Lynn….will have my camera with me now, as opposed to the many years of living here in the past, so I think I will simply see many things that I didn’t before. I appreciate your thoughts and well-wishes.

      June 3, 2014 at 8:11 am

  9. This post says it all and tugs at the heart strings. You love the place and love your family. Good memories there will be…….and thousands of photos you will carry with you……you and your family, starting a new life together. New discoveries and new experience. A chance to change and grow….what a wonderful opportunity. My best wishes for that.

    May 26, 2014 at 1:48 am

    • Kind thoughts, dear John….change and grow…indeed……

      June 3, 2014 at 8:12 am

  10. Moving, especially such a long distance, is a mixed bag of emotions and you’ve captured the feel so well. Good luck with getting everything done.

    May 26, 2014 at 1:49 am

    • Thank you, Marie….we’re making progress….

      June 3, 2014 at 8:13 am

  11. I still make pancakes in a pan… and I could almost smell your breakfast. Nice pictures…

    May 26, 2014 at 4:27 am

    • Thank you, Shimon….a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg, some sugar, too…smells-up the house wonderfully. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:14 am

  12. LB

    Now I want pancakes!
    Seriously though … I love the pancakes, the boots, the boards and the wind chime.
    A pretty awesome last Saturday in Utah!

    May 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    • I enjoyed it, too, LB…in all of its bittersweetness….. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:14 am

  13. I can imagine your feelings, Scott. I’ve moved both ways now, but this time I’ll stay here and still yearn for the desert.

    May 26, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    • I’m sure you can, Terry….and I’ll be your other half…staying here and yearning for the forested mountains and canyons….. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:16 am

  14. A nice bunch of images for your last weekend in Utah. All the best for the move, Scott – new home, new opportunities for images. Now I have to try to clear my head of Glen Campbell singing: ‘By the time I get to Phoenix…’ Actually one of his best songs, so I’m in no hurry to move on.

    May 27, 2014 at 1:33 am

    • Thank you, Andy….and thank you for the song getting stuck in my head for a couple of days, as well…echoing up there among the neurons as I packed and unpacked the trucks…. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:17 am

  15. those pancakes, the rain and those wonderful memories…had me tearing up a bit here! wish you the best as you move on to Arizona.

    May 27, 2014 at 6:15 am

    • I’m glad you were there with me, Susan…good company for such a time. Thank you for your thoughts and well-wishes. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:18 am

  16. Good luck with the move Scott, I’m looking forward to seeing the landscapes and the graffiti from Arizona!

    May 27, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • Thank you, Finn….I’ll do what I can to bring you a fair sampling of both of them…Arizona landscapes and graffiti. 🙂

      June 3, 2014 at 8:19 am

  17. A beautiful, moving farewell post, Scott. I wish you all of the good things in Phoenix! Life moves on, huh? And we wade along with it. 😉

    June 11, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    • Thank you very much, George….your kind words and well-wishes. Life does move on, too, doesn’t it….while we wade along? You’re so right on that one. 🙂

      June 17, 2014 at 4:41 pm

  18. Thank you for this personal and poetic glimpse into your world, Scott.

    June 14, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    • And thank you for being here to share it with, Lynn. 🙂

      June 17, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

