Making friends in Arizona….

My little one and I were taking a walk this afternoon, along the Verde River Greenway just west of the Tuzigoot National Monument, when we were suddenly and unexpectedly encouraged to turn-around and leave, or at least go find somewhere else to hike……  Seems that not everyone here enjoys sharing the trail….

If I were to guess, I’d say that it’s a “Speckled Rattlesnake,” although, without having a really good look at the markings directly on top of the creature, it’s difficult to be certain.  You can click here to see what the Arizona Game and Fish Department has to say about the 13 species of rattlesnakes that live in Arizona…..

Arizona rattlesnake

35 responses

  1. Good choice finding an alternate route!

    June 19, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    • Yeah….that pretty much ended the exploration…on foot, anyway. 😉

      June 24, 2014 at 5:52 pm

  2. One day we were hiking in the Enchantments without seeing a single soul for close to eight hours when we came across a group of close to 15 hikers lined up on the trail waiting for a rattle snake to get off the trail and go down the ravine. It took about 20 minutes, and was definitely worth a patient wait. They are so much scarier than when you see them in the zoo…Glad you are safe.

    June 19, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    • I’ve seen hikers bunch-up with moose blocking the trail before, but this is my first encounter with a rattler out there. Given how amped-up this guy was with any sounds of movement, it seems that he wasn’t going to be moving any time soon. And yes, they grab your attention more out on the trail than they do in a zoo….

      June 24, 2014 at 5:56 pm

  3. Yikes! I’d definitely turn around (and likely never go back), too!

    June 19, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    • Just need to treat Very Carefully now…..

      June 27, 2014 at 11:11 am

  4. I think all creatures, biped and noped alike should learn to share the paths we travel . . . did you try to explain it to your new buddy?

    June 19, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    • He kept interrupting…sticking out his tongue at me, etc….

      June 27, 2014 at 11:12 am

      • What you had there, you see, was a failure to communicate.

        June 27, 2014 at 4:47 pm

        • That is exactly what we had!

          June 27, 2014 at 10:47 pm

  5. Great shot, Scoitt! So you actually stopped to take a photo before leaving……!!

    June 20, 2014 at 12:31 am

    • Thank you, Dreams and Zeros….and yes, I managed to get over ten photos before leaving. It was rather neat. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

  6. Great shot of a scary beastie. We have one dangerous snake, and that’s the adder. I’ve only ever seen one, but then only briefly…. I ran…

    June 20, 2014 at 2:56 am

    • Thank you, John…I considered this to be a unique opportunity and wanted to make the best of it….scary beastie or not. 😉

      June 27, 2014 at 11:15 am

  7. That rattle would be enough of an ID for me. I’m glad you saw it before you got too close. It looks like it meant business.

    June 20, 2014 at 4:27 am

    • It was rather serious, Allen, and I’m very glad that we saw it in time, as well….a snake-bite would have messed-up an otherwise very pleasant outing with my son. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:17 am

  8. I don’t think I’d have stuck around to photograph it. 🙂

    June 20, 2014 at 9:32 am

    • I did it from a safe distance….and brought the photo home to share with you. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:18 am

  9. Mmm, these can be quite feisty beasts I believe Scott, not like some snakes that will be fine as long as you leave them well alone, rattlers tend to be a bit bad tempered don’t they. Smashing photo. I wonder how close you were to get this shot? 🙂

    June 20, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    • Yes, Adrian, I’ve heard that they can be pretty feisty, as well….I was between six and eight feet away from him and, as you can see, we were both paying very close attention to each other. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:21 am

  10. I’ve wondered if there are still lots of them around.

    June 20, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    • I don’t know, Terry….I’ve seen a couple of them dead on the roadway in my few weeks back in the state, but this is the only one I’ve seen in my five times out hiking or walking in the desert so far.

      June 27, 2014 at 11:23 am

  11. Makes me glad the most dangerous thing we have here is adders and I’ve never seen one

    June 23, 2014 at 12:27 am

    • Make sure you get some photos to share with us if you do. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:26 am

  12. Nut Balls

    Holy crap! Did you take that picture? You must have gotten awfully close!

    June 23, 2014 at 7:22 am

    • It was kind of a holy crap couple of minutes, Nathan….and fortunately, I’ve got a nice zooooom feature on the camera. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:27 am

  13. Oh god, you got this photo?!? I barely had the tail of the one I saw…and 13 kinds. My oh my. Oh well, I know you’re smart. And careful.

    June 24, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    • I was very pleased to have him/her sitting there so nicely for me, Lynn….much preferable to just catching their hiney as they’re walking away…..and yes, I was careful. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:29 am

  14. LB

    I’m impressed that you got such a great photo!! There is not enough image stabilization available for me to have been able to get one this clear!! Excellent

    June 25, 2014 at 5:40 am

    • I did have a couple of them that were kind of fuzzy, LB…was very pleased with this image, though…….thank you. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:29 am

  15. Oh my! And you actually stopped to take a pic?! I would have run for the hills!!

    June 25, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    • Well, yes, I did, Susan….and we were already in the hills!!

      June 27, 2014 at 11:30 am

  16. Uffffff… Preciosa, Una Gran Captura…. Muy Buena, Un Saludo.

    June 27, 2014 at 9:00 am

    • Gracias, Jose. 🙂

      June 27, 2014 at 11:31 am

  17. gregjoder

    Given the range and markings I’d say its a Western Diamondback… Great Photo! It’s not easy to get them to pose with their tongues sticking out ;0)

    July 5, 2014 at 10:13 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

