Bells Canyon Upper Falls

I made this photo in August of 2013 on what was my third trip to the upper reservoir in Bells Canyon, just south and east of Salt Lake City, Utah…it was also my last trip to these falls and the reservoir beyond…which I didn’t know at the time…couldn’t have known at the time….  But it is and was, and that’s the way it goes.  You might know that I’m living in the desert of Arizona now, again, and scenes like the one in this image are far from my experience in this new and old home of mine…they might exist, I just haven’t found them yet.

And why did I post the photo today….I don’t know…maybe a hankering or longing to be on the Wasatch trails again…thinking about where I’d be going if I was there.  Anyway, aside from the nostalgia, this image (even with the blown-out water) shows some of the damnably gorgeous scenery of the Utah mountains and canyons.  Enjoy….

Bells Canyon Upper Falls, August 2013

22 responses

  1. Oh, I LOVE those rocks! And the water crashing down always energizes you so much, doesn’t it? It’s such a different landscape from where you are and you really entered it while you were there, so I think it’s going to take time to exit, and posting this makes sense. Transitions…

    July 15, 2014 at 9:23 am

    • And I so love them, too, Lynn…as you likely already know…I appreciate your understanding.

      July 21, 2014 at 10:17 am

  2. smilyking1976

    what a beautiful scene

    July 15, 2014 at 9:54 am

  3. We are most drawn to water, I think. Life-sustaining water. Sitting there beside the water cascading over rocks is the kind of renewal experience that cannot be replicated by anything else on earth. Once you’ve felt that in your head and in your heart, a longing to return remains with us for a lifetime. I can feel it just looking at the image. 🙂

    July 15, 2014 at 10:36 am

    • And I think you’re right, George, we are so drawn to it…I know that I am. Having lived in this desert for so many years, it was a real thrill…a soul-rush, really…to be in an environment where water was so present. And yes, the renewal experience of sitting there by the waterfall, this one and others, along with the mountain streams and lakes, was incredibly rich..sustaining even. I’m glad the image could take you there…that you could feel that renewal and peace. Thank you. 🙂

      July 21, 2014 at 10:23 am

  4. I don’t know . . . whoever arranged those rocks did not have an eye for flowing lines. It seems more like they were strewn about all willy-nilly like.

    Messy, even. I’ll say this; it has potential.

    July 15, 2014 at 11:08 am

    • Well…I’m very happy to have your analysis of the entire jumble, Emilio…even if the product doesn’t meet with the linear standards that you so enjoy…but I’m glad to know that you noted the potential…… 🙂

      July 21, 2014 at 10:24 am

  5. Beautiful spot!! 🙂

    July 15, 2014 at 11:25 am

    • Indeed, it is, Adrian.

      July 21, 2014 at 10:25 am

  6. A beautiful wilderness scene. Images like these of jumbles of giant rocks always makes me wonder at the awesome forces that must have been at work all those millions of years ago to shift all this material.

    July 15, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    • To imagine those forces is quite humbling, Andy…and it was part of my marveling at being out there…to be in the presence of the wild beauty and thinking about how it all got to be where and how it happened to be when I was there….

      July 21, 2014 at 10:28 am

  7. Scott, I feel your longing and your loss……..your loving posts from these trails live with us all.
    Time for a change of strategy……some portraits, street photography, still life arrangements, abstracts, lots of monochromes…..perhaps get into some image manipulation……and some writing.
    Your writing has always had an impact on me……..and how far away is the Grand Canyon?
    …..and no more damn blown out hi-lights….
    🙂

    July 15, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    • Thank you, John, as always, for your consideration and encouragement. It’s been a treasure sharing my images with you and our other friends here on WP…and the writing, too. I’ve considered doing more of that and you will likely see more of it as the months progress. And, while the destinations will be much further away than a 15-30 minute drive from the house down here, I do hope to continue hiking in Arizona, so I’ll be sharing images of that, as well. The Grand Canyon is about four hours up the road and is something that I will likely visit after summer’s vacationers are less in number at that location. I hope to make it up there in the fall. Thank you for being here…and again for your kinds words.

      July 21, 2014 at 1:29 pm

  8. I’d bet that there are a lot of people in Arizona thinking about places just like this.

    July 15, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    • I’m sure there are, Allen.

      July 21, 2014 at 10:29 am

  9. Perhaps just gazing at this image cooled you down by a degree or two? It’s a gorgeous shot. Makes me wish I was there.

    July 15, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    • My mind wasn’t even there, Gunta, with the temperatures. I was more focused on the awesome wonderfulness of it all…and wishing I was there, as well. 🙂

      July 21, 2014 at 10:30 am

  10. I love and miss the Sonoran Desert too, but I would miss the high mountain trails horribly were I to leave them.

    July 17, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    • Yes…and I do miss them horribly myself. I did manage to make it up into the Ponderosa Pine forests south of Flagstaff yesterday, and while they were very different than what I was used to up in the Wasatch, it was still wonderful to be up there on the mountain trails again…so incredibly wonderful.

      July 21, 2014 at 10:32 am

  11. What an amazing place to stop and spend a few moments…Gorgeous photo.

    July 19, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

