sometimes we need this….

OK, maybe it’s just me…sometimes I need this…like an ache or a hunger, a yearning, a desire, a want…yes, a want…a place where we can ask questions of the ether and the answers come to us in the whisper of a breeze or in the light ticking of aspen leaves against their fellows, tiny golden hands clapping so softly that we might imagine hearing them in a dream…or they come to us in the peace that the intensely enormous awesomeness of it all confers on us by simply being there….

You might remember the image, as I’m sure I shared it after my hike. ย This is Mineral Fork in October, 2011…one of the tributary canyons that extend south from Big Cottonwood Canyon in the Wasatch Mountains of Utah…just south and east of Salt Lake City.

Mineral Fork Trail in Fall Glory, October 2011

26 responses

  1. Beautiful shot!

    November 5, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 8, 2014 at 9:17 am

  2. I need places like that too, Scott. That’s what keeps me going. A beautiful place!

    November 5, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    • I imagined that you would, Terry…and yes, it’s incredible out there.

      November 8, 2014 at 9:18 am

  3. It’s so worthwhile to find such a special place that speaks to you. I’m glad you have found such a beautiful one Scott.

    November 5, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    • Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 8, 2014 at 9:19 am

  4. A wonderful image… and just what I needed this morning.

    November 5, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    • I’m glad to know that, Shimon….

      November 8, 2014 at 9:19 am

  5. It’s some pretty spectacular terrain for sure. You could choose to be sad because it’s not there for you anymore, or perhaps be grateful for the time you did get to spend there…. not an easy thing to do -coping with that longing…?

    November 5, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    • I am ever grateful, to whom/whatever might have conspired or aligned to have me live there for those almost four years, Gunta…every single day…and while I don’t choose to be sad because it’s not there for me anymore, I cannot prevent or deny when its absence brings on a bit of melancholy…longing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 8, 2014 at 9:23 am

  6. It’s a beautiful place – and yes, I need places like that too, especially when I feel disconnected and unsure. I’ve ordered a book from the library called ‘Transitions’ by William Bridges to help – as well as trying to get out more in Nature.

    November 6, 2014 at 2:05 am

    • Getting out more in Nature is a wonderful thing, Meanderer…and from what I’ve learned of you over these past couple of years (?), I would have guessed that you need places like that, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 8, 2014 at 9:25 am

  7. You’re sounding like you really miss it Scott and who wouldn’t? Stunningly beautiful. I hope you can get back; perhaps at a time when that need is at its greatest..

    November 6, 2014 at 4:18 am

    • I do miss it very much, Adrian…and yes, maybe I’ll get back there some day. Thank you.

      November 11, 2014 at 8:41 am

  8. I’m concerned for you, Scott.

    We can only keep busy for so long. Then come those moments of reflection when the heat saps your strength. Then the yearning starts. The cool of the mountains. The scent of the trees and the wet ground. The sound of running water……

    So sorry Scott, to turn the screws. Maybe you have to do something about it. Old men dream dreams….that’s me…….young men take those steps that they have to to make their dreams come true. You have an itch…….so scratch it.

    You never know what might happen……

    November 6, 2014 at 5:22 am

    • Thank you for your thoughts, dear John…and yes, that yearning…all of that stuff you so named when turning the screws….and we’ll see how the scratching goes. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

  9. Soul stirring. That’s why we need it.

    November 6, 2014 at 5:27 am

    • Absolutely soul stirring, Allen…..

      November 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

  10. Liana

    Well wondered, my friend . . . you at your contemplative best. Keep doing this. It helps all of us.

    November 6, 2014 at 7:56 am

    • Thank you, Liana…very much.

      November 8, 2014 at 9:32 am

  11. Golden joy! I wish we had Aspens over here.

    November 7, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    • They are a treasure, Andy….

      November 8, 2014 at 9:32 am

  12. LB

    Thankfully you have stunning images like this to take you back to the Wasatch, even if in your memories.

    November 9, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    • Yes, indeed, LB…thankfully I do have quite a few files jam-packed full of images to remind me of my time there. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 11, 2014 at 8:42 am

  13. Still pretty glorious!

    November 13, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    • Glorious, indeed, Karen. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 16, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

