Indian Mesa, Arizona

I’m not sure when I learned about Indian Mesa, but I think it might have been when I was researching Lake Pleasant Regional Park and the surrounding area for an earlier post this summer, but at any rate, I’ve been meaning to get out there and see it for myself…and decided to do it after the temperatures cooled off a bit.  So, this past Sunday, November 9…when the high temp for the day was supposed to be somewhere between 85 and 89 degrees, I started out early with the hopes of getting there and back before it got too warm.  Things didn’t start well for the venture, though…the directions were missing a few pretty important details, or maybe I was just a bit dense that morning…so I didn’t arrive at the trail-head quite as early as I had hoped.  It was still a very nice hike…and it even included water and Cottonwood trees….

If you’re interested in learning more about Indian Mesa, you can click on this link to be taken to the Wikipedia site that covers the subject.  You can also click on this link to learn more about the Hohokam people who are thought to have lived there….  If you’d like to view the images in a larger format, you can click on any photograph in the galleries to be taken to a slide show…and then click on the “View Full Size”  in the lower right corner of each frame to see the larger version.

 

14 responses

  1. Interesting reads about the place and the people.

    And I particularly liked the overlook photos.

    November 15, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    • Thanks, Emilio…had some pretty nice views up there….360 degrees of everything.

      November 22, 2014 at 6:38 am

  2. The desert is such an interesting and in many ways such a fragile landscape…Love the photos.

    November 15, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    • Thanks, Charlie…and yes, it can be very interesting out there.

      November 22, 2014 at 6:39 am

  3. Such a strong and very informative set of images, Scot, and surprisingly green. Living so far away, your wonderful landscapes are not well known to me and these photos have pricked my interest in the region. I particularly like seeing the rock structures close up in images 11, 12 and 15.

    November 15, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post, John…and glad, too, that I was able to bring you yet another corner of the globe that you haven’t been able to see for yourself in your broad travels. The desert is surprising green, too, isn’t it?

      November 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

  4. Scott, I loved seeing your photos! They are excellent and bring back fond memories of the area.

    November 15, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    • Well, I’m very happy that I could rekindle such nice memories, Terry. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:25 pm

  5. Very different sort of landscape,but with its own sort of beauty. I’m so glad to see you out and shooting and sharing.

    November 16, 2014 at 12:18 am

    • Yes, very different, Gunta…with its own type of beauty, to be sure…and yes, too, it’s very nice to be out hiking and shooting…and sharing. Thank you, friend. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:26 pm

  6. You have to admire anyone who could live in such a harsh environment. It seems strange to see water right beside the cacti like that. Beautiful shots!

    November 16, 2014 at 6:09 am

    • It is very inspiring, Allen, to be able to see how the indigenous folks lived in such a harsh (?) environment…and yes, with the water so close to them…that sustaining life-source. And thank you, too. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:28 pm

  7. Lovely photos and an interesting place. Glad I’m not the only one who gets lost.

    November 17, 2014 at 8:18 am

    • Thank you, Marie…and I don’t want to be gender-stereotypical and say that “No…I wasn’t lost,” but I really wasn’t…I knew exactly where I was the whole time…it’s just that things didn’t appear to be where they were supposed to be. 😉

      November 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

