the desert…closely

 

26 responses

  1. A very beautiful gallery Scott!

    December 27, 2014 at 11:08 am

    • Thank you, Adrian. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2014 at 2:40 pm

  2. These are magnificent photographs, Scott.

    December 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

    • Thank you very much, Shimon.

      December 28, 2014 at 2:41 pm

  3. Oh Scott, these are truly marvelous. Who knew the desert had such luscious treats.

    December 27, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    • Why, thank you, Gunta…and yes, it helps me to look more closely when I’m out there.

      December 28, 2014 at 2:42 pm

  4. Liana

    color AND dew . . . bliss πŸ™‚

    December 27, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    • Yes, the desert dew. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2014 at 2:42 pm

  5. I don’t imagine that you spend much time barefoot out there! I see what you men about the moss. I don’t think it’s a tree moss but it’s a pretty one. And tough, apparently.
    How nice it must be to see flowers in December.

    December 27, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    • No, not much time spent barefoot out there in the desert, Allen…it would be asking for trouble if you did. And no, that isn’t a tree moss; I only saw it on the ground, usually under a bit of cover, and only on the north-east side of the hills. Those flowers came up again after some of the late season rains…very different for me, too, after leaving the Wasatch and only seeing flowers so much earlier in the season.

      December 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

  6. Very nice . . . and it looks like a lot of stuff does not want anything getting too close.

    December 27, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    • Thank you, Emilio…and no, this pokey stuff is just like that rattle snake I met earlier…wanting distance….

      December 28, 2014 at 2:56 pm

  7. Beautiful photos Scott! Brings back memories.

    December 28, 2014 at 12:28 am

    • Thank you, Terry…and glad I can help with the memories. πŸ™‚

      December 28, 2014 at 3:00 pm

  8. What an interesting place to visit. Those thorns look harsh though.

    December 28, 2014 at 6:15 am

    • It is interesting, Marie…and you’re right, those thorns can be rather unforgiving. πŸ˜‰

      December 28, 2014 at 3:01 pm

  9. LB

    Scott, these are really great. Are those dew drops?
    The variety of plants and colors are wonderful.

    December 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the images, LB…and yes, those are tiny dew drops…little treasures for me out there in the desert morning. πŸ™‚

      December 29, 2014 at 6:27 am

  10. I’m wondering whether the fauna is as fearsome as the flora? I’ve never been in a desert but your pictures seem to belie the notion of ‘desert’ – there deems to be of lots of life there, albeit life highly adapted to its harsh environment. Wonderful shots Scott.

    December 29, 2014 at 11:25 am

    • Hello Finn – I understand that there are at least 13 types of rattle snakes in Arizona, as well as come coral snakes, poisonous Black Widow, tarantula and Brown Recluse spiders, as well as biting and poisonous Gila Monsters (a huge lizard), so, yes, I’d say that at least some of the fauna is as fearsome as the flora…. There are also birds of prey and multitudes of other birds, Great Horned owls, mule-deer, rabbits, various hawks, coyotes, Javelinas (wild pigs), mountain lions, and other wild cats…some of which can be seen in the same desert where I made these images…and others that are sometimes seen walking through our neighborhoods…the rabbits, coyotes, and Javelinas. And yes, life does thrive in this harsh environment that we call a desert. πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you enjoyed the images, Finn….thank you.

      January 1, 2015 at 6:34 pm

      • Wow, you’re well blessed with amazing wildlife. ‘Desert’ seems like something of a misnomer!

        January 2, 2015 at 11:34 am

        • We do have a nice selection of it, Finn…and I think you’re right, it’s not really much of a desert, is it? πŸ™‚

          January 2, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  11. Wonderful perspective Scott! Are they all recent? My plans are finally gelling – fly to PHX 1/24, drive to Tucson, hang around there for a day, then east to the Chiricahua area. I’m wondering what the plant life will be like then – surely not many flowers, but interesting just the same I’m sure. Have a wonderful new year!

    January 1, 2015 at 11:57 am

    • Yes, Lynn, the photos are all recent, from December 14. I’m going to guess that much of the plant life will be the same when you’re visiting as it is now…and I think you will likely see some of the yellow flowers shown above, and possibly some of the pearly creosote blossoms that I’ve shared on earlier posts, given the amount of rain we’ve been having recently…but I’m not 100% sure. I hope you have a nice stay while you’re here…and as I think I might have mentioned earlier, I will look forward to seeing your photos from the visit. I’ve not spent any time in the Chiricahua area, aside from driving past on the freeway several times, but I think you’ll find some interesting rock formations if you’re going to the national monument. Wishing you a wonderful new year, too…and safety with your upcoming travels, as well. πŸ™‚

      January 1, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  12. So many beautiful finds and such lovely detail!

    January 3, 2015 at 7:27 am

    • Thank you, Susan. πŸ™‚

      January 7, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

