City Paint Phoenix 3 – Flowers…with a Salt Lake City connection….

I’ve been traveling the streets of Phoenix for the past five months with a new eye that is open and welcoming of things that I had never noticed in my earlier years of living here.  If you’ve been following this blog for at least a little while, you might know or recall that I’ve recently returned to this desert home after living in the Salt Lake City area for about four years…after having lived here in Phoenix for over 20 years…and you might remember, too, that I started a City Paint series in Phoenix that was similar to a series that I had going in Salt Lake for a couple of years.  Well…this is the third post in my collection of graffiti and street art displays that I’ve discovered while driving about my new/old home.

Flowers mural 5th St and Roosevelt

This flower shop is located on the south-east corner of 5th Street and Roosevelt Street, just south of the center of town in an area that has become something of an art district over the last several years.  From all appearances, the flower shop has closed its doors for business…the rooms were empty as I looked in from the street…and as you can tell by looking at this second image, the plaster is cracking on the wall and the paint is beginning to peel…which is understandable, given that the mural is on the west-facing wall of the building and in near constant exposure to the desert sun.

Flowers mural closer

When I did a Google search of the artists (as provided by the names under the “E” in the first photo), I found that El Mac had created another image that I had seen in the past…which I had shared in another blog post almost three years ago.  I featured the below photograph in In the Heart of the City and in City Paint 4 – Tucked-Away Alley-Wayand provided a third glimpse of it in the first image from City Paint 17 – Gallenson’s Gun-shop Elk Mural.

heart-of-the-city 2

You can find these murals on El Mac’s web site at Ave Maria and Kofie and Mac…pages five and eight if you want to visit from going to his home-page.  After you get to his home-page, click on the “Spraypaint” subheading…and be prepared to be amazed at what you’ll find.  If you’d like to view more posts on  the street art, building murals, and related graffiti that I’ve discovered in both the Salt Lake and Phoenix areas, you can scroll to the bottom of this page and click on Street Art – Graffiti under the Categories widget to see the earlier other posts.

 

24 responses

  1. This is awesome! : )

    January 5, 2015 at 8:54 pm

  2. He does do very nice work.

    January 5, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    • Yes, he does, Emilio…he’s done some rather incredible work…large-scale and beautifully presented.

      January 7, 2015 at 9:34 pm

  3. Very nice shots, I love the subject matter

    January 5, 2015 at 11:21 pm

    • Thank you, Freeze Frame…the street art can be rather compelling.

      January 7, 2015 at 9:35 pm

  4. Amazing creativity and talent. I am counting the days (24) until my trip. Hopefully I will get to see some of the art in person.

    January 6, 2015 at 1:49 am

    • It certainly is amazing, Laura…and if you make it to Phoenix when you’re here in Arizona, drive Roosevelt Street from Central to 7th Street (and in the neighborhood/area just north) and you’ll find some wonderful work…and then head north on 16th Street from McDowell Road to just north of Thomas Road and you’ll find a bunch more. There are more murals in the city, but those will be two, easy, windshield tours of some pretty densely worked areas that I’m certain you’d enjoy. Let me (us) know how it goes! 🙂

      January 7, 2015 at 9:44 pm

      • Thank you. I know I will be going to Phoenix on the 4th, my husband has a flight out.

        January 8, 2015 at 6:48 am

        • The areas I described are not too far from the airport if you’re able to spend a little time taking a tour.

          January 12, 2015 at 7:30 am

  5. Too bad the weather is going to destroy it but I suppose that’s part of the package when you do these kinds of paintings.

    January 6, 2015 at 6:27 am

    • This particular mural has been up for five/six years already, and even though it’s faded and starting to peel, it is still an amazing piece of art…I love seeing it when I’m driving through the neighborhood….but, yes, Allen…that’s part of the deal with building murals like this.

      January 7, 2015 at 9:46 pm

  6. I have gone downtown a few times, but as a nature photographer it is quite daunting. Beautiful mural, too bad the flower shop has closed.

    January 6, 2015 at 8:47 am

    • You might enjoy wandering around the Rio Salado Habitat Restoration area that I featured a couple of weeks ago…early mornings when the birds are out on the water or gliding from tree to tree. I was surprised by what I found down there…in the middle of the city…or a little bit south of the middle. 🙂

      January 7, 2015 at 9:49 pm

  7. That’s really nice stuff! An art medium that began as graffiti long ago has legitimized itself now.

    January 6, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    • It certainly has, Terry…and yes, it is really nice stuff. 🙂

      January 7, 2015 at 9:50 pm

  8. How wonderful that you’re finding the street art that you love in your new/old home… Nice to see you adapting to the changes so well! Or so it seems.

    January 9, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    • It’s some fascinating stuff, Gunta…and yes, heading that way…toward “adapted.” Thank you for being here. 🙂

      January 12, 2015 at 7:28 am

  9. You probably know this but El Mac is from Phoenix, grew up doing graffiti on the streets so the fact that he is now an internationally acclaimed artist is remarkable. There are several other El Macs in town. If you’re interested, I can tell you where they are, or maybe you will come upon them in your wanderings. It’s considered basically a sin to paint over any of his murals although other murals are overpainted frequently. A couple years ago, new owners of a building that had one of his murals on it overpainted it much to the consternation and disgust of other muralists and the local art community. I have a photo of it on my blog since I had photographed it a few years ago.

    January 31, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    • Hello again, Candace…and yes, I did know the El Mac is from the area…I researched him a bit after finding his name on this particular mural…and I’ve seen some of his other work and have already captured some images of them. I remember, what must be a couple of years ago now, when I was living in Salt Lake City and was posting murals from there, you mentioned that Phoenix had some great murals, too, and that it would be interesting to see them in a match-up….. I’d love to know of some of El Mac’s other location’s, too, so I can add images of those murals to the ones I already have.

      January 31, 2015 at 3:45 pm

      • I actually found a blog post of mine where I mentioned all of the local El Macs I’m aware of. The Phoenix Goddess is my fave and one you wouldn’t find if you didn’t know where it was as it’s in an alley. Here is the link: https://maccandace.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/nuestra-senora-del-desierto/

        January 31, 2015 at 4:06 pm

        • I have photos of all of those except Universal Hair Salon, of course, as it is gone, and the Phoenix Goddess. I’ll be posting Nuestra Senora del Desierto pretty soon…and will make sure I get to the Phx Goddess mural, too, before it disappears. Thank you for the information. 🙂

          January 31, 2015 at 4:20 pm

  10. cool murals !!

    February 3, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    • Yes, it certainly is a cool mural. 🙂

      February 3, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

