Image

a desert ridge

A desert ridge, New River, Arizona

12 responses

  1. Wonderful! Keep them coming!

    January 10, 2015 at 9:47 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…and I will. πŸ™‚

      January 12, 2015 at 7:22 am

  2. Agree with montucky! πŸ™‚

    January 10, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    • You’re in good company, Gunta…. Thank you, too. πŸ™‚

      January 12, 2015 at 7:22 am

  3. 8 days, I can’t wait to get out there and enjoy that scenery!!!!! Wonderful image!

    January 11, 2015 at 2:17 am

    • I like that you’re so excited to come out here. I hope your trip is everything you want it to be. πŸ™‚

      January 12, 2015 at 7:24 am

  4. LB

    It looks like the ridge is covered in bouquets of flowers πŸ™‚

    January 11, 2015 at 10:43 am

    • Hmm….kinda pokey flowers. πŸ˜‰

      January 12, 2015 at 7:26 am

  5. Love the complexity of the landscape, it really draws you into the image.

    January 11, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    • It can be very alluring, Charlie.

      January 12, 2015 at 7:26 am

  6. One of the great difficulties about shooting in the desert, is that sometimes the experience is far more moving than anything we can record graphically. This is because the desert demands of us to relate on many different levels. It is not enough to capture a slice of life out there. I myself have sometimes sat in the same place for more than an hour before snapping the picture. And when I did it, I knew that I had just captured a few hints of the subject. I liked this photograph very much. I could feel the hour of the day… could imagine the creatures hiding from view…

    January 13, 2015 at 4:49 am

    • I’ve thought about your words here for the last several days, Shimon…tossing them around and wondering at how I would apply them to myself and my experience out there in our Arizona desert. I’m pretty sure that you and I have exchanged other comments about my return to the desert and about preferences of living in other places…and words from those exchanges are still rattling around up in my noggin’ as well…. So I will admit to being an almost “reluctant” admirer of the desert…and am beginning to find very much that is actually compelling to me. I’m looking forward to being out there in it again, to following fading trails up into the hills…and to finding a place where I might sit for an hour or more and contemplate what I do and do not see around me. Thank you for your words…for your encouragement.

      January 18, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

