City Paint Phoenix 5 – Morning Blessing

I found this “shed-sized” mural on the other side of the parking lot behind the Barrio Cafe at 2814 N 16th St.  This entire area contains houses, restaurants, sports shops, and alley walls that have been decorated with street art…some of it is easier to understand or conceptualize, and some of it is in abstract form that simply entertains in its presentation and demonstrates the skill of the artists.

Morning Blessing Mural whole

A closer look….

Morning Blessing Mural closer

…and credits…for the Medicine Paint Art Collective and Impact Project.  You can click on this link to be taken to the home page of the organization if you’d like to learn more about them….

Medicine Art Collective credits

 

22 responses

  1. I thought they looked like feathers, and the link helped it make sense to me.

    January 31, 2015 at 7:25 am

    • Yep…feathers and corn stalks.

      February 3, 2015 at 7:10 pm

  2. Lovely image and a lovely theme (blessing?). Is that part of it on the post near the right edge of the first shot? Cute!

    January 31, 2015 at 11:54 am

    • I thought of that little guy on the pole when I was cropping the image…seemed like it should be there, too. 🙂

      February 3, 2015 at 7:11 pm

  3. Gorgeous colours..

    January 31, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    • Kind of rich, aren’t they?

      February 3, 2015 at 7:11 pm

  4. A couple years ago I was trying to photograph all the murals in town (I’m in Phoenix, too) but it was neverending, they changed so quickly, and I eventually got tired of it. I’ve switched to birds and other critters now.

    January 31, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    • I’m still scouting around and haven’t captured anywhere near all of them.

      February 3, 2015 at 7:12 pm

      • It’s strange because I guess he just did a new one in town a couple weeks ago which I found out right after you and I communicated. It’s somewhere downtown on a business called Heavy Pedal, I believe, it looked beautiful.

        February 3, 2015 at 7:19 pm

        • Well, I’ll have to go find that one now…thank you. 🙂

          February 3, 2015 at 7:21 pm

        • And that store is literally just down the road from my work, so I think I’ll head over there tomorrow at lunchtime….

          February 3, 2015 at 7:23 pm

          • Cool, lemme know…

            February 3, 2015 at 7:37 pm

          • Will do.

            February 3, 2015 at 7:56 pm

  5. Would I be correct in interpreting this as a Native American inspired construct. It is a highly reasoned piece and a powerful statement. I might interpret it as a blessing on the home and landscape of the people, maybe even a statement of ownership…..a reminder perhaps of those who were here before and how they were at one with their world…..and an expression of hope in the continuity of life that’s so dependent on the refreshing of the landscape through the seasonal rains. Thanks, Scott for recording it. I hope my interpretation gives no offence.

    February 1, 2015 at 5:23 am

    • Ah, I should have followed the link you provided, then I wouldn’t be relying on guesswork as to the source. Very interesting, and a noble project.

      February 1, 2015 at 5:28 am

    • Well framed, John…a blessing through and through. From what I’ve read, in relation to the part about ownership, the native peoples on this continent haven’t been keen on ownership…it was part of the initial difficulties between them and the White settlers. I think you pegged the rest of it right-on, though. Very insightful. 🙂

      February 3, 2015 at 7:15 pm

  6. LB

    Art As Healing.
    Wonderful.
    And these colors are gorgeous!

    February 1, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    • Yes, indeed, LB….

      February 3, 2015 at 7:16 pm

  7. This one is very pleasant to look at!

    February 1, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    • It’s missing a bit of the abstract craziness that has been present in some of the earlier ones.

      February 3, 2015 at 7:17 pm

  8. elmediat

    Great presentation of intriguing art and community expression. 🙂

    February 8, 2015 at 8:28 am

    • I don’t know that I’ve seen any other strictly Native pieces…definitely a nice find.

      February 14, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

