Union Station – Utah’s Railroad Museum

I’ve had this post sitting in the “drafts” folder for quite a while now…probably close to a year, I suppose.  I was a little disappointed with the museum and the quality of photos that I collected when my little one and I visited there, maybe because it was a perfectly bright, sunlit day that caused the photos to be a little washed-out, or maybe because many of the vehicles were not maintained as well as I thought they should/could have been…or that they were parked too close together under the protective awning to be able to get decent photos of them in their entirety.  At any rate, here are some highlights of the visit to Union Station in Ogden, Utah.  If you’re interested, you can click on the highlighted name to be taken to the homepage of the historic building and then navigate around to learn more about the railroad museum and Union Station’s other offerings.

22 responses

  1. That was my experience of a railroad museum I went to in Georgia. The cars, locomotives, everything was jammed in there, not allowing one to walk between them, not to capture any side views. And a lot were basically junked there.

    . . . one does the best one can . . .

    February 3, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    • There’s another “museum” here in the Phoenix area, too…Mesa, I think, that I checked-out on-line a few years ago…it appeared to be little more than a storage lot for derelict engines and cars, so I never made the effort to visit it in person…I suppose I might be missing something…maybe.

      February 7, 2015 at 7:30 am

  2. Tiffany

    I’ve only been to Union Station a couple times; once to eat at the restaurant inside and once for their weekly Jazz at the Station concert. Pretty cool venue for listening to the local Jazz musicians. At any rate, I didn’t get to take a look around either time so thanks for sharing your photos! I’ll make sure to stop and look next time I make it up to Ogden.

    February 3, 2015 at 10:29 pm

    • Well, if you get up there again, Tiffany, I hope you have a nice time…and maybe capture some better images, too. 🙂

      February 7, 2015 at 7:31 am

  3. The railroad engines that ruled part of our world and had a golden age are now the dinosaurs whose remnants are getting harder to find.

    February 3, 2015 at 10:49 pm

    • I think you’re probably correct, Charlie. I know that some of the old vehicles are still being used in other parts of the world, though…as demonstrated in our friend John Smith’s blog…he has quite a showcase of images from his travels in India where they are still seeing active service.

      February 7, 2015 at 7:33 am

  4. Fascinating detail and your sequence, as ever, conveys the character of the place. That old locomotive is a beauty. So glad that it sneaked out of your drafts folder.

    February 4, 2015 at 5:25 am

    • Thank you for your words, John…I had been reluctant to share the post, as I didn’t feel that the images were a complete enough representation of what was there…and wasn’t really confident in their quality, either. But, here they are anyway…. I’d think of you each time I saw the draft in the folder. Hope you have a nice weekend, my friend.

      February 7, 2015 at 7:36 am

  5. Still got some great shots though…looks like an interesting place to explore. I love that last photo of the bridge, wonderful perspective and so nicely framed with all that gorgeous green!

    February 4, 2015 at 9:28 am

    • Well, thank you, Susan. I’d like to go back and visit around sunset maybe…or when my mind was in more of a creative place…but it’s now about 13 hours north of me, so I won’t likely be heading back any time soon….. I was rather stricken with that bridge, too. It wasn’t part of the museum, but I had seen it from afar on our way to the museum, so we went hunting for it afterwards.

      February 7, 2015 at 7:39 am

  6. Scott, when I come to your site I’m never disappointed because I know whatever the subject will be, it will be displaced and the story behind it will be spot on. Thank you so much for always doing a great job with your presentation. By the way, I love the pictures; my grandpa was an engineer for UP, a million years ago, it seems. I have always loved the trains.

    February 4, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    • Good morning, Kat…thank you for the kind words about the post and blog…I enjoy sharing it with you and our other friends here. I’m glad you particularly enjoyed this post, too…hoping it brought good memories of your grandfather. Take care….

      February 7, 2015 at 7:42 am

      • He did and thanks for asking me. As you my Grandpa worked for UP and he would take me to the train and let me look around before his trips I love trains and have a lot of different pictures of them from the UP to BNSF those memories are really great. Hope you have a wonderful day Scott and God bless.

        February 9, 2015 at 12:01 am

  7. What a great place for a boy to explore! That trestle is really something with its arched top. They built them with flat tops here.

    February 5, 2015 at 7:11 am

    • Yes, Allen…it would be a great place for a bunch of friends to play…re-enacting the great train robberies of yesteryear…. There was an engine situated near a playground area at the museum for kids to play on…my little one climbed on it for a bit and pulled some levers and turned some valves…. And yes, I really enjoyed that bridge…would have loved to have spent hours there, capturing images throughout the day with the various light, etc. I wonder at the difference in the bridges’ construction…why would it be…round topped versus flat…?

      February 7, 2015 at 7:47 am

      • I’m not sure. It could be that the arch gives it extra strength, maybe for a longer span. It’s certainly more pleasing to look at than those with flat tops are.

        February 7, 2015 at 3:14 pm

        • Hmm…could be, and yes, the arch certainly does look more appealing, doesn’t it?

          February 7, 2015 at 9:37 pm

  8. elmediat

    Excellent sequence. 🙂

    February 5, 2015 at 11:45 am

    • Thank you very much. 🙂

      February 7, 2015 at 7:52 am

  9. Kate Miller

    You have captured Ogden’s Union Station very well here. The murals are fantastic and a historical record. I take public transportation between Salt Lake and Ogden and I wander through here periodically. Seems like there’s more that could be done, but all in all, I am glad the old girl’s still there and open for visits.

    February 12, 2015 at 7:42 am

    • Thank you, Kate…and I share your sentiment…more could be done, but I’m glad it’s still there and open for viewing, too.

      February 14, 2015 at 1:58 pm

  10. Reblogged this on ustitleogden.

    March 21, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

