City Paint Phoenix 8 – The Mermaid Knitting her Tail

In a comment on another post, I mentioned to Andy at LensScaper that I happened to see some artists painting murals that day….

Knitting mermaid mural entire

…and I said I’d be going back to capture some images of the work.  I didn’t get there the next day, like I had hoped, but I did manage to get there a little later when the mural was complete.

Knitting mermaid mural left half

Coincidentally, the owner of the building (Joseph…or maybe it was James….?) was walking out to his vehicle as I was driving mine into the parking lot.  After asking if it was OK to be there on the property and make some photos, I asked the man if he knew anything about the mural.  He mentioned that an artist from Hong Kong was actually brought into town to create the mural as part of the Paint Phoenix 2015 paint festival….and that this is a mermaid weaving (knitting?) her tail.  Joseph also mentioned something about it being the subject of a Chinese myth, but maybe I misunderstood or got that part of the conversation mixed-up with another part in which he was discussing a Native American/Pacific Islander combination mural that’s on the other side of the building…which I shall be featuring here shortly.  And finally, Joseph/James, also told me about a couple of other locations nearby where I could find some wall murals painted by other artists who participated in the event…again…to be shown in another post.

Knitting mermaid mural right half

To wrap-up the post, I’ve included a small gallery of some isolation images that you can click on to see in greater detail.

And as always, if you’d like to see more of the City Paint Phoenix posts, or even earlier images of street art in Salt Lake City, you can scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Street Art – Graffiti title under the Categories widget to be taken to a continuous feed of the posts.

18 responses

  1. As with the other murals you’ve shared, amazing artwork and talent! It looks to me she has lips under her eyes, part of the myth or am I seeing it wrong? Next time I get out your way, we will have to get together for an afternoon of shooting!

    April 1, 2015 at 4:49 am

    • I thought the same thing about the lips and eyes, Laura…and I’m not sure about the myth part. And yes, definitely, next time you’re here we’ll take a little tour of the city’s street-art districts. 🙂

      April 10, 2015 at 10:52 pm

  2. That’s a pretty amazing mural, but I don’t see a lot of Chinese influence in it.

    April 1, 2015 at 6:05 am

    • I’m with you on both counts, Allen.

      April 10, 2015 at 10:53 pm

  3. A fascinating piece of art Scott! Thanks for sharing these images. 🙂

    April 1, 2015 at 9:22 am

    • It certainly is, Adrian…and you’re welcome. 🙂

      April 10, 2015 at 10:53 pm

  4. Fantastic mural and so well photographed too. I love the light has picked out all the minor little rugosities in the wall – that adds so much to the character of the image. Thanks for the mentions too, Scott.

    April 1, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    • Thank you, Andy…the mid-afternoon light was kind to me and my picture-making…..and you’re most welcome for the mention. 🙂

      April 10, 2015 at 10:54 pm

  5. Amazing murals again. I bet you’re stoked to have discovered it, along with other possibilities. It never ceases to amaze me what some folks can do with a wall… 🙂

    April 1, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    • It seems to be the season for new art to be appearing at particular points in the city, Gunta…I have found a couple of others that are pretty amazing, too…and yes, what some people can do with some spray-paint and a wall! 🙂

      April 10, 2015 at 10:56 pm

  6. Extraordinary artwork! Wonderful detail and I love the colors!

    April 2, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    • Rather fascinating, isn’t it?

      April 10, 2015 at 10:56 pm

  7. I really need to get downtown and see all these amazing murals you are seeing!

    Tamara

    April 10, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    • This one, and some right across the street, are on 16th Street just south of Thomas, and another fascinating stretch is on Roosevelt Street between Central and 7th Street. Make sure someone else is driving so you can look around without having to concentrate on the traffic!

      April 10, 2015 at 10:59 pm

      • Thank you for the info! A designated driver would be helpful 😄. Actually another one of my blogging friends here in the valley would,like to go downtown too. I was thinking a late afternoon and then sunset reflections on the office buildings.

        April 10, 2015 at 11:16 pm

        • You’re welcome. I think a Sunday afternoon might do better for downtown photography and the sunset reflections on the office buildings…weekday traffic can still be pretty intense around the current sunset times….but you might have fun giving it a try on different days, checking it out for yourself. I’ll look forward to seeing the images that you bring back for us. 🙂

          April 11, 2015 at 7:14 am

          • Thank you, that’s good to know about rush hour traffic.

            April 11, 2015 at 9:37 am

          • Yep, that damn traffic can put a damper on so many good intentions! 🙂

            April 20, 2015 at 9:08 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

