Walking through Sycamore Canyon

It doesn’t do it justice, of course, but this is a tiny representation of the almost six-hundred images that I made during my six hours in the canyon about a month ago.  Following the pictures in their presentation, we’re essentially going from the beginning to the end…and anyone who’s taken a four to five mile hike in one direction, knows that things can often look so different on the way back to the starting place…lighting, moisture in the morning air, and even the tiredness and level of attention paid by the hiker/photographer can determine how and what things are seen.  I also made several photos of the multitude of wildflowers that I encountered on the trail, but will include them in yet another post of the area.

Please remember that you can click on any photo in the gallery to be taken to a slide show that presents each image in a larger format.

 

32 responses

  1. Some of those places look like private playgrounds.

    May 3, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    • Everyone’s welcome…but no camping allowed for the first 5-6 miles into the canyon…but some people did anyway…not that it bothered any of the rest of us who were there that day.

      May 3, 2015 at 1:22 pm

      • I was referring to the idea that they can be enjoyed without (too much) exposure to the rest of humanity . . .

        May 3, 2015 at 1:32 pm

        • Oh, absolutely…lots of “tucked-away” places where one can find a bit of solitude.

          May 3, 2015 at 1:44 pm

  2. Really nice, Scott. That looks like a fabulous place to hike. Great images.

    May 3, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    • Thank you, Mike….and it was a very nice place to hike.

      May 9, 2015 at 5:05 pm

  3. Utterly delightful. Especially loved the swimming pool shot. It looks pretty lush for being in the desert. Those red rocks add to the beauty.

    May 3, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    • Evidently this is all the drainage basin for the hills from several miles around. The stream only exists for a few miles of it, though, running underground for several miles upstream. I thought it was pretty incredible.

      May 9, 2015 at 5:08 pm

  4. It looks like such a wonderful spot to get a bit of distance from humanity…Great photos.

    May 3, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    • Thank you, Charlie….and yes, a nice hideaway.

      May 9, 2015 at 5:08 pm

  5. Yes, we always see different scenes on the way back…

    May 4, 2015 at 1:35 am

    • I like that we do….

      May 9, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    • I’m very aware of that too. It’s happened more than once that I’ve noticed something conspicuous on the way back and wondered how I completely missed seeing it on the outbound trek.

      May 15, 2015 at 9:14 am

      • And what would we have missed on the way out if we had been captured instead by what we saw on the way back……?

        May 16, 2015 at 7:59 pm

  6. So very beautiful Scott!

    May 4, 2015 at 1:38 am

    • Thank you, Adrian. 🙂

      May 9, 2015 at 5:19 pm

  7. What a great hike! Isn’t it easy to take 100’s of shots in such a short time? Have to love the digital age! Do you find that usually only about 10% hit the mark? I am in NYC this weekend and seeing this post really makes me wish I was back in AZ!

    May 4, 2015 at 4:41 am

    • Yes, Laura, we/I could never shoot like this if it was all on film…no way! And you’re right, not a whole lot of them make the grade, either…which would likely change if it was all on film. Hope you had a nice time in NYC. 🙂

      May 9, 2015 at 5:21 pm

  8. It’s true that you can walk a trail many times and still not see all that’s there. I’m surprised that a place with so much water isn’t mobbed in a place as hot as I’ve heard Arizona is.

    May 4, 2015 at 7:33 am

    • I’ve heard that it can be very busy with people there, Allen…maybe the early start helps with that, though. I definitely saw more people walking in as I was leaving than what I encountered when I was heading in myself. And I will be going back again, too…to see even more of it.

      May 9, 2015 at 5:24 pm

  9. Just beautiful! I sure do miss that part of the country!

    May 4, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    • It is beautiful, Terry….I’m glad you enjoy seeing it again. 🙂

      May 9, 2015 at 5:24 pm

  10. Atmospheric. I wish I could just step inside and take a nice peaceful hike.

    You seem to have disappeared from my reader Scott. I am happy to say I have re followed. 😀

    May 10, 2015 at 9:56 am

    • Hello, Nancy….I’m glad to be back with you again. 🙂

      May 16, 2015 at 8:07 pm

  11. What a great and varied place, one more reason for a return visit to Arizona.

    May 15, 2015 at 9:12 am

    • I can give you some turn-by-turn directions when you get out here…. 🙂

      May 16, 2015 at 8:08 pm

  12. LB

    What a wonderful series, Scott.

    May 16, 2015 at 8:59 pm

  13. This totally makes me want to go there!

    May 25, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    • Well, come on down then!

      May 28, 2015 at 7:44 am

  14. Beautiful 🙂

    May 27, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

