City Paint Phoenix 11 – Film Bar abstract

I found this mural quite by accident a little over a month ago.  I had intentionally taken a different route to work so that I could photograph a particular mural, and afterwards, I happened to spy this bit of purple and blue decorating a wall a couple of blocks away.  So, at the risk of being late to the office and missing the “timely punch” of the clock, I stopped and made a few more hasty images.  The mural is located on the north wall of a downtown theater called the “Film Bar.”  It is located at 812 North 2nd Street, which makes it about two miles from my workplace…and just down the road a little bit from the area that I have mentioned here on several occasions, Roosevelt Row, a showcase of local street art and culture.

This first gallery shows the complete mural and then the sections, moving from left to right….

This second gallery presents some greater detail in isolation form….

Walking around the building to where I had seen some “graffiti-type” art decorating a trash dumpster, I found this surplus image on the east-facing wall…obviously touched with the morning’s sun and companion shadows.

The last photograph shows the signature of the artist, Joe Rael, whom you might remember from an earlier post, City Paint Phoenix 2 – Hair Pollution.

If you’d like to see more of the City Paint Phoenix posts, or earlier images of street art in Salt Lake City, you can scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Street Art – Graffiti title under the Categories widget to be taken to a continuous feed of the posts.

22 responses

  1. Interesting visuals . . . and lots of blue. All nicely captured.

    May 10, 2015 at 11:07 am

    • Yep, very interesting….unusual theme. And thank you, Emilio.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:09 pm

  2. Rather ghastly bits actually. There’s a yoga pose in there, but it doesn’t look at all peaceful and serene somehow. Seems as though a lot of street art has a gory streak to it.

    May 10, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    • There does appear to be a bit of skull-splitting….bones tucked into their hair…maybe cannibal-esque? I wasn’t aware of the yoga pose…and no, doesn’t look real peaceful.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:11 pm

  3. Love the complexity of the images…Creativity is such an amazing gift.

    May 10, 2015 at 10:54 pm

    • I think it’s fascinating, Charlie.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:11 pm

  4. While I can appreciate the artistry, this one isn’t my cup of tea.

    May 11, 2015 at 3:36 am

    • Yah…the artistry is the key in this one….until we learn the story, maybe.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:12 pm

  5. Interesting how they use so many cooler colors there.

    May 11, 2015 at 3:39 am

    • Maybe it’s to contrast with the more earthy desert colors….?

      May 16, 2015 at 8:14 pm

      • Or maybe just to make the viewer feel cooler by the power of suggestion, I’m not sure. I like reds and oranges in winter.

        May 16, 2015 at 8:37 pm

        • Could be…..but then you’ve been wandering the trails and forests for so many years that you may have picked-up a few preferences that our wilderness friends enjoy, as well. 🙂

          May 28, 2015 at 7:42 am

  6. Beautiful cool colors! You definitely see a different part of the valley than I do!

    Tamara

    May 11, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    • It’s just down the road a bit, Tamara. 🙂

      May 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm

  7. I wonder how the artist translates their preparatory sketches onto such a large wall. I once painted a stage backdrop using a projector to help with scaling up but even so that’s a huge piece of wall. Some skilled graphic design. Surprised that no spray can kids have added to it.. Hope you weren’t late for work, Scott.
    That section in red and yellow with the car is odd and a bit jarring.

    May 18, 2015 at 11:19 am

    • I’m not sure, John…I’ve seen images of the artists with note-pads and clumps of papers in their hands as they’re looking at the beginnings of the work on the walls and I’ve seen chalk or lightly applied paint outlines on the bare walls before the details have been painted, but I’m at a loss to explain how they go from notebook sized sketches to fantastic images that cover hundreds of square feet of wall.

      I’ve been told that there are “street” rules that dictate that other artists are not allowed to “tag” or paint over murals created by other artists. I would imagine that different rules apply for simple graffiti, but that’s my understanding about the murals…although I have seen where some knuckle-heads have done it anyway.

      And that section with the red and yellow and the car was painted by someone else….and yes, it was rather jarring. I’d like to see it removed….

      May 19, 2015 at 9:19 pm

      • I assume that they seek permission for murals on that scale, as they are not completed ‘on the fly’ over night. Are these murals done as part of a community project? They can’t be cheap to carry out. When I was teaching we did a 40 foot mural on the rear of some garages…….I sincerely hope that they’ve painted over it by now!

        May 21, 2015 at 1:48 pm

        • Yes, I would imagine that they have permission before beginning such a detailed and expensive project. I’m not certain about this particular mural, but I think it might have been made as part of the “Paint Phoenix 2015” art celebration. I think it’s actually called “Paint Phx 2015” and I added a link to their website on the earlier post about the mermaid knitting her tail. I do know, from speaking with various business owners, artists, and from reading articles about the works, that the artists are often commissioned to create the murals for the particular location…but again, I’m not certain with this one. Did you make some photos of the murals that your students painted on those garage doors? I’d be interested in seeing them if you did. 🙂

          May 22, 2015 at 7:32 am

          • Thanks very much for the background, Scott. Much appreciated. I may have photographed the mural but wouldn’t know where to start looking for them. I’m surrounded by disorder and hidden little corners that will take months for the boys to unravel when I pop my clogs!

            May 23, 2015 at 2:40 pm

          • You’re welcome for the info, John….and I’d just as soon you delay having the boys unravel your disorder when you pop your clogs! But…if you ever stumble across the photos, hopefully only figuratively in the stumbling, I’d enjoy having a look at the mural. 🙂

            May 24, 2015 at 7:27 am

  8. Great work Scott!

    May 23, 2015 at 3:52 am

    • I had the easy part with this one, Adrian….just trying to not be late for work. 🙂

      May 28, 2015 at 7:40 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

