“Her Secret is Patience”

Part of the day was done and there was still more to go…time card punched and waiting again…waiting again and again to punch back in and head up-town…waiting and thinking and knowing how to spend hours, not wanting to kill time and risk injuring eternity, but I was miles from home and miles from anywhere, and waiting to surround myself against my greater will with sounds foreign and people matching, piercing needles and veins on men and men, watching the sun go slowly down against a city-horizon of brick and stone and palms rising from urban desert sands with pigeons bobbing across asphalt driveways, with vagrant men sleeping and waking and running with wringing hands across the greenbelt, teens riding skateboards in the library parking lot, and paint ghosted onto walls random and intentional, messages wrought like iron in the workman artist’s hands.  There was no south shore of a great and salted lake, but the sky and its clouds looked the same and gathered me in and drew me up and lost me in the white and blue similar heaven that was reflected in sky-scraper windows that bend in a lens as airplanes rode through a magical net.

Tamara had done a piece called Net Art and brought a random thought closer to fruition…inspiring night-time images of a familiar place, a bit of string and cable launched into the realm above a city park where black men and brown sat lounging in silver metal chairs with legs crossed and sun-glass-ed eyes open or closed in their tilted heads appearing to see what I saw and being Okay with just seeing it; it was just a thing that was up there, a thing that caught my eye in passing a light-rail platform with curves and lines of its own, riding ground level out and away from that city-center into the beyond.

My camera does’t like the night-time and my processing kit doesn’t straighten buildings, but it…the camera, does allow me to lie in the middle of the grassy park in my work clothes while I point it skyward and imagine that I know what I’m doing, looking through some other lens, some other set of eyes that ride atop words and desire to find and fill and consume and possess, to express, to show, to manifest ideas in a tangible form of ink dots or binary wonders.

You can learn more about this bit of wonderfulness by clicking on these words and flying through space and time to the artist’s web page.  If you’ve got a few minutes, I highly recommend watching the two videos…the second one shows the construction/assembly in a time-lapse format.

 

23 responses

  1. It’s certainly different, I’ll have to say that for it. I like the night shots of it.

    May 30, 2015 at 3:12 pm

    • Yes, it is different….and the night shots are rather cool.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:24 am

  2. What a spectacle. Looks like you had fun lying (laying?) there and shooting.

    May 31, 2015 at 12:15 am

    • I did rather enjoy myself laying/lying out there shooting. The camera gives us an excuse to do unusual things and then it feels like we’re hidden by it, so some of our natural inhibitions fade away…..I’ve found it to be so, anyway….

      June 4, 2015 at 7:26 am

  3. Reblogged this on My Choice and commented:
    Fascinating!

    May 31, 2015 at 2:01 am

    • Thank you for the reblog, Herman.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:28 am

  4. Nicely done Scott!

    May 31, 2015 at 2:57 am

    • Thank you, Sir Adrian. 🙂

      June 4, 2015 at 7:28 am

  5. An interesting piece of artwork. I really like the shot of it at dusk, when it appears dark against the sky. Isn’t it funny the positions we will get into to take a picture?!

    May 31, 2015 at 3:13 am

    • Hello, Laura….and yes, it is very interesting. I’m glad you like the shot of the net silhouetted against the dusk sky….I almost didn’t include it…but thought it belonged in the series.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:29 am

  6. Fascinating captures, fantastic perspective!

    May 31, 2015 at 5:14 am

  7. Not many people would get such great shots from an ordinary scene

    May 31, 2015 at 5:18 am

    • Thanks, Diane….and thank you, too, for visiting.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:30 am

  8. Your pictures serve you well my friend, and eternity thrives even though you might stand and stare. Your words took on a greater dimension as I heard today of the loss of a friend. She was creative and beautiful in every sense of the word, and her eternity started last night.

    Her secret was patience too, but in her patience she suffered the pending loss of doing those small things that you itemised; those routines of living, as well as the joy of her art. I am sad that I will never see her again. Like you it is a time to stand and reflect. Thanks, Scott.

    May 31, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    • I’m sorry to hear of your friend’s passing, John…but touched by your sharing of the special place she had in your life…and the beginning of her eternity. Words to ponder….

      Thank *you,* my friend.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:35 am

      • You are most welcome Scott. Some days we need to reflect on our mortality, remember our friends, and appreciate what we have.

        June 6, 2015 at 2:05 pm

        • I believe you are correct, John.

          June 10, 2015 at 9:54 pm

  9. A beautiful ‘sculpture’ or ‘installation’. The night-time shots show the exquisite three-dimensional form that metamorphoses into an infinite series of shapes. I love the writing too, Scott.

    June 1, 2015 at 1:26 am

    • Thank you, Andy….being there was truly inspiring.

      June 4, 2015 at 7:36 am

  10. LB

    Absolutely incredible, Scott. Thank you so much for introducing us to this wonderful piece of art.
    I also appreciate your words and imagine you lying on the ground in your work clothes to take these lovely images.

    June 1, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    • Thank you, LB…I survived the event without grass-stains or soggy spots on the clothes…and you’re very welcome, too. 🙂

      June 4, 2015 at 7:37 am

  11. settleandchase

    So strange, I was listening to Tamara’s Ted Talk only yesterday where she was telling the story of how these came about..! I loved them at night particularly.

    June 16, 2015 at 9:11 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

