a study of perspective with a gone pier….

The following is yet another set of discoveries along the south shore of The Great Salt Lake…images made on a Saturday afternoon in late February, 2014…..depending on where you stand and where you are looking, you can see the Stansbury Mountains to the southwest, Stansbury Island to the west, Black Rock simply there in its curious prominence, or Antelope Island toward the north and east.  For those interested, the pier pilings are the only remains of the Black Rock Resort.  You can click here to be taken to a Deseret News article about the resorts that have come and gone from the shores of The Great Salt Lake…and, if you’d like, you can click on any photo in the following gallery to be taken to a slide-show that presents the images in a larger format.

 

 

16 responses

  1. Beautiful images Scott!

    June 4, 2015 at 8:01 am

    • Thank you, Adrian. 🙂

      June 10, 2015 at 9:25 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Amazing Fine Art.

    June 4, 2015 at 10:43 am

    • Thank you for the reblog, Bo.

      June 10, 2015 at 9:27 pm

  3. Wonderful shots, Scott. The link to the resort histories sent me down a rabbit hole digging up half-forgotten memories of visiting Lagoon. Not to mention the floods that came up over I-80 in the early 80s (if my memory is anything to go by.) 😉 Those floods were quite an experience as we had just newly moved to Utah and expected a dry desert.

    June 4, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…I’ve been to Lagoon a couple of times myself. I imagine it’s changed a bit since you were there last. And I had heard, and read a bit, about the floods back in the 80s, too….the Great Salt Lake was overflowing….and today it’s approaching record low depths. I had read a few months ago how one could almost walk all the way from Antelope Island to Bountiful on nearly dry land…but maybe that was a stretch. I’m not sure.

      June 10, 2015 at 9:43 pm

  4. Being ignorant of anything beyond my own knowledge…….ha!…….might I ask if you can swim in the Great Salt Lake, or is it an unpleasant experience because of the high salt level.
    I believe that I would find this interesting location quite uncomfortable owing to the wide open spaces and my agoraphobia, so please forgive me, Scott, if I don’t drop by. Some of these wonderful images have an other world quality, particularly the third from last.

    June 6, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    • People certainly do and have swam, swum, swimmed in the Great Salt Lake. I’ve never done so myself, but the few times I’ve been out there, I was struck by how stinky it was, so it’s not something that I would even want to wade in, let alone swim in. If the water were deeper with fresher water from the snow-melt in the mountains, it might be different…..

      Thank you for the nice words about the images, John…I’m glad that you can still enjoy them and the spaces they represent, even if the thought of being out there is unsettling….

      June 10, 2015 at 9:49 pm

  5. elmediat

    Excellent sequence.

    June 7, 2015 at 1:42 pm

    • Thank you, Elmediat. 🙂

      June 10, 2015 at 9:50 pm

  6. Beautiful. Nothing like it in Arizona, I’d guess.

    June 8, 2015 at 3:30 am

    • Thank you, Allen….and no, I don’t think there’s anything like this in Arizona…we’ve got a bunch of man-made lakes or reservoirs scattered about the state, but I don’t know that they compare to this.

      June 10, 2015 at 9:51 pm

  7. And just down the road a ways is SeaBase 🙂

    June 8, 2015 at 9:42 am

    • So it is, Captain. 🙂

      June 10, 2015 at 9:51 pm

  8. LB

    What a lovely series! I’ve only driven by the Great Salt Lake on my way south. You’ve made me realize how much I missed by not stopping to explore.

    June 10, 2015 at 9:40 am

    • Thank you, LB….and looking at these photos again makes me yearn to visit the rest of the lake and its shores that I never got to explore….. 😦

      June 10, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

