Making friends in Arizona………again….

Today’s installment comes to you from the Black Canyon Trail, about five miles south of Bumble Bee Road, where I have finally had occasion to meet more than just a few dozen lizards, rabbits, and birds….

I was minding my own business, hiking down the trail, when I heard an instant of “noise,” and then the tell-tale rattling coming from somewhere nearby.  I immediately stopped in my tracks, looked all around me, saw nothing of concern, walked a few more steps down the trail and the rattling became fainter, turned around and walked back the way I had come and it became louder, passed a few more steps beyond the precise spot where this guy was hiding and it became faint again, and then walked back, peered into the brush, and saw him/her sitting pretty, just waiting for me to make a photograph.

The truth of the matter, when it comes to how the photo came to be, is that I was looking through the middle of the brush while holding the camera down at ground level and pointing blindly through the underbrush, hoping that something good would come out of it.  For only a moment, I considered lying prone in the trail to have a better view of the subject, but then thought better of it, and remained squatting there, pointing the camera and hoping for the best.  This is photo number five, and the only one that turned-out well.  I was surprised and thrilled when I got home, downloaded the photos, and beheld this little treasure….  And no, I was not this frighteningly close to the creature…the “zoom” function on my point-and-shoot camera is wonderful!

Western Diamondback Rattlesnake from Black Canyon Trail

 

If you’d like to revisit the earlier post, “Making friends in Arizona,” where my Little One and I encountered our very first rattlesnake in the “wilds” of Arizona, you can click on the highlighted name to do so….

29 responses

  1. Yikes! I think the camera and I would have flown off into different orbits. 😉

    July 18, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    • And miss this treasure?! 😉

      July 19, 2015 at 2:00 pm

  2. Scary, I don’t like snakes. Glad you weren’t really that close. Besides the subject, it is a great photo of it.

    July 18, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    • Safely away, Leanne…thank you.

      July 19, 2015 at 2:00 pm

  3. That was a heck of a way to do it, but it’s a great photo!

    July 18, 2015 at 11:45 pm

    • It worked one out of five tries….and thank you, Terry.

      July 19, 2015 at 2:01 pm

  4. Not sure I would have been that bold, but you got a great image, Scott

    July 19, 2015 at 2:05 am

    • It seemed to be a safe distance, Andy, hopefully I won’t learn otherwise in the future….and thank you.

      July 19, 2015 at 2:08 pm

  5. Fantastic shot, fantastic creature. 🙂

    July 19, 2015 at 3:23 am

    • Thank you, Mjollnir…and yes, a fantastic creature, indeed.

      July 19, 2015 at 2:08 pm

  6. Wise decision. A happy outcome to a potentially very unhappy situation. Do you carry antivenom on your hikes? Will you now?

    July 19, 2015 at 4:18 am

    • Yes, it was a nice outcome, Gary….and no, I don’t carry anti-venom with me when hiking and don’t know that I will. Not that accidents can’t/won’t happen, but I’m usually very careful when out there, constantly watching the trail and being aware of my surroundings, knowing that I’m hiking alone and have to rely on myself to get back to the truck.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:08 pm

  7. Yes, the zoom gives a great advantage. Very nice shot.

    July 19, 2015 at 4:23 am

    • Thank you, Shimon….it’s a nice little tool.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:08 pm

  8. What a great shot, no matter how you got it!

    July 19, 2015 at 5:38 am

    • Thanks, Laura. 🙂

      July 19, 2015 at 3:09 pm

  9. Wow! Great shot!

    July 19, 2015 at 8:26 am

    • Thank you, Lemony…I was very surprised at how well it turned-out.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:09 pm

  10. You are much braver than I am. Great shot.

    July 19, 2015 at 9:02 am

  11. . . . it looks friendly enough . . . I hear they make good pets.

    July 19, 2015 at 11:09 am

    • He sounded rather pissed. 😉

      July 19, 2015 at 3:10 pm

  12. Nice shot of something rarely seen, at least here, and for that I’m thankful.

    July 19, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    • I have actually wondered why I haven’t seen more of them…wondered if they’ve been hunted/killed in such numbers that there aren’t many of them around, but then, given that I am generally ONLY on the trails when I’m out there, they still have quite a bit of terrain to be present in that I’m simply not seeing.

      July 19, 2015 at 3:14 pm

  13. Wow. Was exploring your blog and wondering if you ever stumbled across just such a creature and boom,,there it is! Fabulous. Well done.

    August 6, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    • Yep, boom! There it was…this one and the one from the earlier post. The first one was more of a surprise than the second one, but still very cool!

      And thank you. 🙂

      August 6, 2015 at 10:41 pm

  14. Awesome shot and WAY TOO CLOSE.

    September 6, 2015 at 1:24 pm

    • Thank you, Sarah…I prefer to think of it as “close enough!” 🙂

      September 19, 2015 at 11:30 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

