Navajo hogan beneath Echo Cliffs

I had thought these were the Vermillion Cliffs, thought I had seen them named as such on a map somewhere, but when I was researching them to be certain, I found that they are the Echo Cliffs….  The Vermillion Cliffs are a landscape feature and national monument a bit to the north and west of these.

Navajo hogan and Echo Cliffs

Some might argue that this structure is not a proper hogan…and they might be right.  But I have seen several of them scattered about this bit of the Navajo reservation and they fit the concept of what I understand a hogan to be…a traditional Navajo home or lodging.

Navajo hogan closer view

Some of the ones I’ve seen along this stretch of road have been more circular in form, but overall, they are similar in construction and style to this sand/flag-stone house.  While this structure appears to be abandoned with its missing window panes, it might still be used for ceremonial purposes…but, I really don’t know.

Echo Cliffs with hogan looking south

The Echo Cliffs are a prominent feature of the drive for about 45 miles along Highway 89, stretching from Gap (yes, that’s the name of a town/community) to about 25 miles south of Page.  The images above and below are looking south…and if we could see past the extreme right edge below, we would be able to look out over the Painted Desert to the east.

Echo Cliffs southern panorama

This last image is looking north from the same location…with the hogan being a couple of hundred yards to the right.

Echo Cliffs northern panorama

That’s all for now…..

26 responses

  1. Stunning. Such incredible colour in those scapes.

    August 16, 2015 at 11:11 am

  2. beautiful Navajo impressions 🙂

    August 16, 2015 at 11:34 am

    • It was quite something out there.

      August 20, 2015 at 7:40 am

      • brings back memories
        of living on many reservations 🙂

        August 22, 2015 at 6:48 am

        • I hope those are good memories for you….

          August 23, 2015 at 3:50 pm

  3. LB

    Aren’t the colors incredible! When I see scenes like this, I try to imagine what it must have been like to be the first one to come across it.
    So beautiful and thanks for the info about the structure

    August 16, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    • I’ve had the same thoughts about being the first one to see it, LB…that would have been incredible…pristine…amazing. 🙂

      August 20, 2015 at 7:39 am

  4. You’ve certainly captured what it is that makes that area special.

    August 16, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta…and this is only one spot out of dozens along the road that would have represented it well.

      August 20, 2015 at 7:38 am

  5. I like the banding in the rocks. I’m reading a book called “Soul of Nowhere ” by Craig Childs that talks about places very much like this. I think you’d probably like it.

    August 16, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    • Thank you for the book information, Allen…I’ve just spent the last hour reading excerpts from three of Child’s books, including “Soul of Nowhere.” You’re right, too, I would enjoy the book(s) very much….and have just added them to my list. His writing reminds me of Barry Lopez’s books…observations by another man who loves being in the out-of-doors, sharing his observations with near poetic descriptions of the land and what it holds. I think you’d rather enjoy his books, as well.

      August 16, 2015 at 11:21 pm

      • I’ll have to look up Barry Lopez. I like reading just about anything to do with nature so I’m sure I’ll like his books too.
        Thanks for the tip!

        August 17, 2015 at 2:48 pm

        • You’re welcome, Allen….let me know what you think.

          August 23, 2015 at 4:16 pm

  6. Stunning! Such amazing colours Scott. I particularly like your last image.

    August 17, 2015 at 1:52 am

    • Thank you, Adrian…that bit of road does add something, doesn’t it?

      August 20, 2015 at 7:35 am

  7. Such amazing beauty. It would take me forever to drive those 45 miles!

    August 17, 2015 at 3:23 am

    • It was difficult not stopping every five minutes. 🙂

      August 20, 2015 at 7:36 am

  8. Such spectacular sweeping landscapes, love the shots you got.

    August 17, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    • Thank you, Charlie.

      August 20, 2015 at 7:36 am

  9. Looks like a beautiful day.

    August 18, 2015 at 2:36 am

    • It was, Shimon….

      August 20, 2015 at 7:36 am

  10. Those beautiful colours again. Wonderful, Scott.

    August 20, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    • Thank you, Meanderer. 🙂

      August 23, 2015 at 3:49 pm

  11. Beautiful! Isn’t it interesting in the closeup of the hogan, how well the construction matches the cliffs behind it – all-of-a-piece.

    August 23, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    • All-of-a-piece, indeed, Lynn…using what’s near to hand to make it…..

      September 19, 2015 at 11:24 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

