At home in the desert….

Don’t read too much into the title…I was referring only to the context of the post…the desert home, of sorts, that I found on my most recent hike on the Black Canyon Trail.  Each time that I’ve been out in the desert, I’ve looked relatively closely at the nearby terrain, the areas immediately bordering the trails, and more closely at the vegetation and ground where I might choose to stand or sit for a quick rest or hydration break.

Golden Cholla with nest

And each time I’ve been out there on the trails, I have happened upon a few to more than a handful of nests in the cacti and trees that were along the trails….

Cactus Wren's nest in Cholla cactus

This was the first time, however, that my curiosity was rewarded for taking the time to stop and peer inside of said nests.  What a nice surprise it was to find a couple of blue, speckled eggs tucked inside of the inhospitable looking home of what I believe is a Cactus Wren’s nest.  If you didn’t notice it right away, you can see the form of the nest in the first photo, tucked into the lower left/center portion of the mass of the cactus.

Cactus Wren's eggs in nest

Absolutely precious….

15 responses

  1. Very nice find. Did you see the birds nearby?

    September 10, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    • I did not see them nearby…it was after noon and, while there were dark clouds approaching from the north, the sun was full-up and out at this location. I usually notice the birds flitting about and making their noises earlier in the morning.

      September 10, 2015 at 9:50 pm

  2. I live in the PNW, but I have always found the desert to be fascinating and I have always enjoyed investigating and hiking through that part of the world.

    September 11, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    • I had lived here for a long time, Charlie, but have only begun to explore it since I moved back from Utah. There are, indeed, many fascinating things to be found in the desert. Someday, I hope to be able to extend my explorations up into your part of the country…and to see for myself all of the wonderful things that I’ve only seen pictures of so far.

      September 19, 2015 at 11:14 am

  3. I’ll bet that nothing bothers that nest!

    September 11, 2015 at 2:59 pm

    • I’d bet the same thing, Allen. 🙂

      September 19, 2015 at 11:14 am

  4. I got to see several nests in cacti when I was out there, but peeking in to see eggs is quite a treat. Will you check back and see if they hatch?

    September 12, 2015 at 3:53 am

    • It’s been a couple of months, now, since I was out there…and I honestly don’t know when I’ll get back to that area…so I’ll probably miss knowing. 😦

      September 19, 2015 at 11:21 am

  5. Wonderful catch, Scott! Amazing the things we find if we stop to take a closer look.

    September 12, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    • I agree, Gunta….thank you. 🙂

      September 19, 2015 at 11:21 am

  6. Lovely surprise!

    September 15, 2015 at 1:12 am

  7. A wonderful discovery and beautiful captures!

    September 21, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    • Thank you, Susan. 🙂

      September 21, 2015 at 7:23 pm

  8. I love this – sorry I haven’t been here in a while – in succession, my camera broke (well, just the LCD screen) then my phone was destroyed, then my computer crashed. So it’s been NUTS! 🙂 But Tue we’re off to Phoenix, renting a car and driving northeast. First goal is Canyon de Chelly for a few days, then a few days in the Prescott area. any suggestions will be entertained. I’ve been doing my research and have quite a few ideas.

    October 4, 2015 at 11:56 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

