January Desert Sunset

I was driving north on the freeway, heading home after having been out on the road all day for work…and this was the scene that wrapped-up my day.  It is somewhat diminished in splendor from what I had originally seen, as I couldn’t stop right there on the freeway to make the photo.  When I looked east, I also beheld a cloudburst, a desert curtain of rain covering that far horizon…that was rose-colored…but it was gone by the time I made it off the freeway and safely down the road where I could pull-over to make the photos.  At any rate…here it is…kinda beautiful.  Happy Friday-evening to you all…..

January Desert Sunset

26 responses

  1. Is that ever gorgeous!

    January 8, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    • It certainly is, Terry!

      January 12, 2016 at 7:29 pm

  2. Wow, love it. Thanks for sharing. Isn’t it frustrating having to wait to get the photo, but there was plenty of beauty left for you (and us).

    January 8, 2016 at 8:55 pm

    • You’re welcome, Nicci. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  3. Killer image Scott.

    January 8, 2016 at 10:46 pm

    • Thank you, Mike….I thought it was pretty cool.

      January 12, 2016 at 7:30 pm

  4. Trying to capture images of things seen from the highway has long been a frustration for me. When Steve and I are out together, I have been known to demand he let me out on the highway, go up to the next exit, turn around and come back and get me. But, it is best if you know for sure how far the next exit is!

    January 9, 2016 at 5:20 am

    • The last time I did that, my adult traveling companion hopped into the driver’s seat and threatened to leave me behind. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:32 pm

  5. Wow, so great.

    January 9, 2016 at 8:47 am

    • Thank you, Huppsi. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:32 pm

  6. Oh, I so love those open vistas! It was worth stopping for – happy weekend Scott! We need those, don’t we? 🙂

    January 9, 2016 at 9:26 am

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, Lynn…and yes, we do need those. 😉

      January 12, 2016 at 7:34 pm

  7. Beautiful!! Loving your blog…I’ve added it to my list of favorite blogs!

    January 9, 2016 at 5:39 pm

    • Thank you, C & B. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:35 pm

  8. Utterly breathtaking. Nothing quite like the desert sunsets (unless it’s ocean sunsets 😉 ) This is particularly noteworthy that you had to work at getting even this!

    January 10, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    • It was quite stunning, Gunta…and yes, as you well know, the desert sunsets can be like that…as can your ocean sunsets. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:39 pm

  9. I know what chasing sunsets is like and this one was worth chasing!

    January 11, 2016 at 2:52 am

    • I thought so. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  10. Still a compelling photo, Scott. Well done. 🙂

    January 11, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    • Thank you, Frank. 🙂

      January 12, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  11. Wow, what incredible colour! So glad you took the picture Scott and shared it with us!

    January 13, 2016 at 11:00 am

    • It was amazing, Adrian…and I’m very happy to share it. 🙂

      January 24, 2016 at 5:25 pm

  12. Cristina

    Breathtaking view ! Love it 🙂

    January 22, 2016 at 3:02 am

    • It was quite wonderful, Cristina. 🙂

      January 24, 2016 at 5:25 pm

  13. Kinda beautiful is right!
    It’s nice to wander through your meditative posts and images, Scott. A dramatically different landscape than my home turf!
    So lovely.

    March 19, 2016 at 7:42 pm

    • So glad you enjoyed it, Karen….and yes, it’s quite different than your home turf up north!

      April 5, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

