Abandoned military barracks….

This isn’t my photograph, but I thought I would do something a little out of the ordinary and share a link that my son sent me…he was in the US Army and stationed at this post in Germany for two years preceding its closure in July, 2007.  We can see that the lawns have still been cared for to a minimal degree, but it looks like everything else is returning to nature…rather, Nature is beginning the slow, but inevitable process of reclaiming what was Hers in the beginning.

babenhausen-kaserne-12

Again, this is not my image, I simply copied it from the page and stuck it in here as an enticement for my blogging friends who enjoy making and admiring photographic images of abandoned structures.  I hope you’ll take a few minutes to click on the highlighted words above, or cut and paste this URL directly into your browser: http://www.thematrixer.com/urbanexpedition1.php so you can take a visit to the fading past, as presented in this fascinating piece of art.

Credit for the above image, and the rest of them presented on the linked page, goes to Industrial Heritage and Abandoned-Decayed Places Photography.  If you click on this italicized and highlighted link, it will take you to what appears to be their home page.

17 responses

  1. Wow . . . that is a lot of images (I felt diminished in my own efforts). But, very nice photos. I wish I could get access to such sites.

    Thanks for sharing it.

    January 22, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    • Yep, they out-did you, Emilio. 🙂

      It would be a great way to spend a day or an afternoon, exploring and making photographs in such a place.

      You’re welcome….

      January 24, 2016 at 4:56 pm

  2. So much history in it. Great capture!

    January 22, 2016 at 11:03 pm

    • It’s a fascinating collage, Nandini…and yes, such history there.

      January 24, 2016 at 4:57 pm

  3. It’s really too bad another use couldn’t have been found for those facilities. Most bases are miniature cities including housing, hospitals, stores, office space, places of worship etc. Perhaps Germany doesn’t have the homeless problems we have in the US. but it seems such a waste. Thanks for sharing the link.

    January 23, 2016 at 2:56 am

    • I’m familiar with other military bases/posts in Germany that have been re-purposed, so it is rather curious that this one hasn’t been, so far…and yes, it does seem like such a waste.

      You’re welcome for the link. 🙂

      January 24, 2016 at 4:59 pm

  4. That’s interesting. My Air Force son says Germany is considered a dream assignment. Maybe I should send him the link.

    January 24, 2016 at 7:32 am

    • Between my father being stationed there twice when I was a kid and my being assigned there as an adult, I’d have to agree that it’s a “dream assignment.” It’s a beautiful place, and while all of the history of the country isn’t wonderful, the artifacts, monuments, and ancient buildings are still fascinating to visit and learn about in person.

      January 24, 2016 at 5:05 pm

  5. I love this type of photography, Scott, and have indulged a little myself. Thank you for sharing the links. I enjoyed the pictures very much!

    January 25, 2016 at 7:17 am

    • I remember some of your work from such places, Adrian…I’m glad you enjoyed the images from the links. 🙂

      January 30, 2016 at 12:25 pm

  6. Liana

    LOVE it.

    January 25, 2016 at 8:43 am

    • Kinda cool, huh? 🙂

      January 30, 2016 at 12:26 pm

  7. Hi Scott, where is this old abandon barracks at? It is a great capture and leaves me wanting to writing some kind of story about who was there why it was left the way it was you all kinds of things. These are the types of photos I take then I write stories about those pictures and the people who lived there and try to figure out why they left. LOL Sorry I haven’t been here in a while I have been trying my hand and mind on writing a full length book —a who done it and it is moving along now but it was touch and go on whether it would beat me and I wouldn’t write it or not. How is things going with you?
    You take care my friend and now that things are back on track and back to writing my blogs, working on the book, and leaving comments again. Plus I lost a few people in the last 7 months so that is also why I haven’t been here. Have a great day and enjoy your weekend. Kat

    January 28, 2016 at 5:20 am

    • Nice to see you again, Kat…. These abandoned barracks are in Germany…and I’m sure they are absolutely chock-full of stories. I’m already familiar with some of them, as told by my son, and I can imagine that there must be millions more!

      I hope life settles down and returns to a gentle state for you….

      January 30, 2016 at 12:24 pm

      • So I guess you would mine if I took a couple of the pictures off the website and put my own spin on them? I could send you a copy before I posted under “Rambling Thoughts” which is the one I write under lighthousekat. I would really love your opinion on what you think of them and even your son’s if he want to give his opinion too. It is nice to be back and doing what I love. I have missed everyone so much.

        January 30, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        • Hello Kat…those pictures of the abandoned barracks are not my pictures…so I cannot give permission to use them “with a spin;” you would have to ask the photographers and authors of the blog.

          January 30, 2016 at 3:27 pm

  8. And I’m glad you showed it here. It’s that good that as if it were a painting 🍸

    February 24, 2016 at 9:12 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

