just before…

The sun had already risen, but the trail had meandered down into a fold of the land and I found myself again in a pre-sunrise situation.  The foreground wasn’t actually this dark, but with the brightness of the sky above the horizon, the area closer to me was darkened and made for a nice silhouette image.  That’s one of the trail-signs to the left of the juniper tree…a common and reassuring symbol that I was exactly where I was supposed to have been at 7:45 on a Sunday morning….

Just before sunrise on the Black Canyon Trail, Antelope Creek segment

24 responses

  1. It looks as if it might have been hot, even at that time of day.

    January 30, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    • It was actually quite cool, Allen (relatively speaking, of course)…I was wearing a hoodie and still had my gloves on…. I checked the temperature with Weather Underground before I left the house and it was 39 degrees in my part of town…and then I drove north for 34 miles and climbed 1,500 to 2,000 feet in elevation, so it was probably still at least that cold when I made the photo, give or take a few degrees….

      January 30, 2016 at 2:34 pm

      • That’s not bad. Though I know it can get cold in the desert I thought the sky looked warm.

        January 30, 2016 at 2:41 pm

        • No, it wasn’t too bad…not like the four or 14 degrees that I encountered at the beginnings of some of my winter hikes in Utah.

          January 30, 2016 at 2:59 pm

  2. Exactly!

    January 30, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    • That’s right, Terry….exactly where I was supposed to be!

      January 30, 2016 at 8:05 pm

  3. A very nice post. 🙂

    January 30, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    • Thank you, Nandini…it was a nice time of the morning. 🙂

      January 31, 2016 at 6:58 am

  4. A beautiful way to start the day.

    January 31, 2016 at 4:02 am

    • Indeed it is, Laura.

      January 31, 2016 at 6:58 am

  5. I can hear the 360 degrees of silence like a pregnant pause before the world gets into gear. Do you go on tippy-toes for fear of breaking the spell Scott, or does the crunch underfoot mark you out as an intrepid and confident explorer?

    It’s Strange how a photo can invoke silence……

    January 31, 2016 at 5:51 am

    • I don’t go on tippy-toes, John, but there have been several occasions when I have stopped along the trail and then hesitated to move on again because it felt like I was actually violating that Silence with my movement and the noise of my foot-steps. So, sometimes, yes, it is with reluctance that I add the crunch of my passing to the quiet of the morning, but most other times that sound is simply notice of my intention to be out there and moving….

      Thank you for the noted observation, John….

      February 1, 2016 at 6:32 am

  6. A suitable reward for the early riser. It’s been a while since I’ve done that, maybe too long…

    January 31, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    • It’s always there waiting for us, Gary…even for a slower step, if that’s necessary…it’s still there. 🙂

      February 1, 2016 at 6:34 am

  7. LB

    Silhouettes, and trail signs, are lovely things!

    January 31, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    • Yes, they certainly are, LB. 🙂

      February 1, 2016 at 6:35 am

  8. Lovely, Scott… atmospheric.

    February 1, 2016 at 12:35 pm

  9. That is just such a gorgeous photo…nothing better than being outdoors at 7:45 on a Sunday morning 🙂

    February 4, 2016 at 1:14 am

    • Thank you, James…and I agree with you wholeheartedly. 🙂

      February 12, 2016 at 6:36 pm

  10. So beautiful Scott!

    February 13, 2016 at 3:34 am

    • Thank you, Adrian. 🙂

      February 13, 2016 at 11:59 am

  11. settleandchase

    Everyone needs to see a morning like this! Beautiful.

    February 14, 2016 at 11:17 am

    • They certainly do….thank you. 🙂

      February 15, 2016 at 6:53 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

