roses in “rowses”

The western edge of metropolitan Phoenix is covered in various agricultural plots, fields and fields of sundry growing things, from acres of palm trees, salt-cedar trees, wheat (or some other grain), corn, cotton, carrots (recently harvested), onions, alfalfa….

Field of roses portrait

…and roses….

Field of roses landscape

…fields of them….

Flowers and clouds

….rows of them….

Fullness of pink roses

….rows(es) and rows(es) of roses….

Line of sight roses

“….red and yellow, (pink) and white….they are precious in (my) sight….”

Mountains and roses

A wrong turn last Sunday brought me to this bit of sweet serendipity….the northeast corner of Reems and Olive for any local readers….

One pink rose

I slowed down a bit to admire the fields, clouds, and the bright sky, and knew that I had to return with my camera in quick minutes to capture what I had hoped would be some amazing photographs.

Red and white centered

By the time I did return, maybe 15-20 minutes later, the clouds were piling closer to one another and the blue patches of sky were becoming fewer and fewer…and then blue was gray and the light was good for some photos and not for others.

Soft white roses

I’m not sure how long I was actually out there, stepping gently between the rows, crouching among the thorns, and muddying my shoes a bit in the process….

Rich red rose buds

…but I left with over 100 photos….

Rose bushes inside view

….and managed to whittle the prizes down to these few….

Roses in stages

As always….thank you for visiting….

32 responses

  1. That was a beautiful find! What a sight! I wonder, are the Baseline gardens still there?

    May 15, 2016 at 4:40 pm

  2. Lovely bubbly, Scott…..my camera is useless working at a narrow depth of field and tends to want everything in focus, so I have to do a blur in post.
    Would make some very pleasant birthday card pics. Most unexpected floral delights from what I imagined was a very arid region.

    May 15, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    • My camera is kind of finicky, too, John…being the point-and-shoot that it is, it will focus on things much deeper in the field than I want, so there’s a lot of trial and error and a bunch of photos for the trash bin with each shooting….

      I’ve thought quite a bit about the birthday cards since reading your comment…and have even seen several similar cards in one of the local shops…definitely something to consider.

      And yes, it is quite an arid region…temps up to and over 120 degrees the last couple of days…but the recent generations of desert farmers learned well from the native folk of generations even further back and brought water to the fields in canals…irrigation ditches bring beautiful, green life to the ugly brown dirt of the valley’s western fields…..

      June 20, 2016 at 9:30 pm

      • Your images belie the fact that you use a point and shoot camera, but of course, it’s the eye behind that makes the difference.
        My little camera has a very useful touch screen focussing, so it focusses where you touch.
        There certainly is a potential market for your images Scott….go for it!
        Thanks, Scott, for your detailed response. It’s much appreciated.

        June 22, 2016 at 2:33 pm

        • Thank you for the encouraging words, John…as always….and you’re welcome, too, for the more detailed response.

          I’m very glad you’re still visiting, my friend…..

          July 14, 2016 at 9:16 pm

  3. AYR

    Cute title and great shot

    May 15, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    • Thank you. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:31 pm

  4. I love that you found this field while not looking for it…and what do you know, I just got back from a similar excursion. Out for a drive, looking for birds not normally seen around here but rumored to be near a prison farm a few miles away, we came across a flower field for the Pike Place Flower market. And like you, I waded in and got very muddy shoes, and rued the clouds, which turned to drizzle and rain, as they so often do here in the PNW. My field was mostly delphiniums, so blues and purples, with eagles and great blue herons flying forays overhead to a shallow pond beyond, where they were picking off baby birds, most likely, and getting hounded by black birds. Serendipity, it’s the best!
    I like the way you brought us into the field – I think I like the 2nd and 3rd best, because the strips of color and texture are realistic and abstract at the same time. Also the 5th and 6th, and your “rowses” – yes!

    May 15, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    • It was certainly a sweet surprise, Lynn…and how nice that we were in similar straights with our muddy shoes and picture-making. I wish I could repeat that there were eagles and great blue herons cruising overhead, but will have to settle with only blackbirds and occasional magpies.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos…and the rowses….. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:35 pm

  5. Very cool find! Once, when I was in Nova Scotia, I came across acre after acre of sunflowers, a happy surprise.

    May 16, 2016 at 3:08 am

    • I’ve seen photos of other sunflower fields….would love to find some of my own to capture. The thought rather reminds me, though, of finding a literal mountainside covered with yellow flowers on one of my hikes up in the Wasatch. I could have stayed there for hours, kneeling, crawling, lying under their canopy making photos…..sigh….

      June 20, 2016 at 9:38 pm

      • Fields of flowers always make me smile! I can understand the want of staying there for hours.

        June 21, 2016 at 4:13 am

        • Hours and hours….in those rows(es) of roses…. πŸ™‚

          June 29, 2016 at 8:32 pm

  6. WOW! How absolutely lovely!

    May 16, 2016 at 7:35 am

    • I thought so, too, Lemony…. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:39 pm

  7. The scent wafting through that field must have been heavenly.
    I wonder what they do with so many roses. They’re far beyond the cut flower stage. Maybe they sell dormant bushes in spring.

    May 16, 2016 at 2:57 pm

    • I think the sensitivity of my smelling senses may have waned over the years because I don’t remember really noticing the strength of any rich flower aromas while out there…..maybe it wasn’t warm enough to really get things going…..not sure. At any rate, I think you’re correct about them being “beyond the cut flower stage,” I was thinking about them being sold as bushes, as well……

      June 20, 2016 at 9:42 pm

  8. What a great find! I bet the aroma was pure heaven, though sometimes the cultivated roses don’t have as much scent a the wild ones. Hope you didn’t get any scratches along with the mud! It does make you wonder what they do with them all.

    May 16, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    • I didn’t really notice any of the aroma, Gunta…but I did collect a few scratches. πŸ˜‰

      June 20, 2016 at 9:43 pm

      • Oh, I forget… the cultivated roses often don’t have much scent. The wild ones usually have the heavenly scent. Sorry to hear about the scratches.

        June 20, 2016 at 10:32 pm

  9. Liana

    oh my goodness….an embarrassment of riches in this post!! luvit!!!

    May 20, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    • What an interesting thought, Liana…an “embarrassment of riches.” I think you nailed it. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:44 pm

  10. LB

    What a wonderful wrong turn! Thank you, Scott, for sharing these beautiful flowers!

    May 22, 2016 at 8:07 am

    • Oh, I’m good with wrong turns, LB…have made a life of them!

      So glad you enjoyed the flowers. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:45 pm

  11. Wonderful images Scott! I bet the scent is heavenly!

    May 25, 2016 at 8:57 am

    • Thank you, Adrian….my old nose isn’t as sensitive as it used to be…so I can’t attest to how wonderful the scent was….I’m just hoping it was really special. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:46 pm

  12. Wow, what a glorious sight! Looks like heaven to me!

    June 10, 2016 at 7:08 am

    • So glad you like it, Susan. πŸ™‚

      June 20, 2016 at 9:47 pm

  13. settleandchase

    Wow!!

    June 19, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    • Cool……”wow” is good!

      June 20, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

