City Paint Phoenix 18 – Fernando’s Alignment Shop

I haven’t had any new hiking adventures of late, but I did come across a nice mural the other day on my lunch-time walk.  This one was kind of a surprise, as I literally drive past the place every other day or so and had not seen it.  This mural is on the west side of Fernando’s Alignment Shop at 1946 E Roosevelt Street, a bit east of downtown and three real blocks away from my workplace.  There are other lesser-quality paintings on a couple of the other walls, so it was something of a treat to find this one.

fernandos-alignment-mural-complete

I don’t get involved in politics on my blog and I’m not going to do so now, but it appears that this mural is in support of the “#nodapl” movement…which you can read about here and here, pages that present both sides of the issue.

fernandos-alignment-mural-left-panel

My sharing of the mural here is simply to share the mural…the street/building art that I have found in Phoenix.

fernandos-alignment-mural-center-panel

The second, third, and fourth images are the left, center, and right panels of the mural….

fernandos-alignment-mural-right-panel

And the following gallery is simply a set of close-up images focusing on separate sections….

In attempting to give credit to the artist, I researched the name/label that we can see in the far right, lower section of the mural, something that looks like “Gua Che Collection 2016,” and couldn’t find anything relating to a particular artist’s collection.  It appears that “gouache” is simply a type of painting…anyway, here it is…..yet another example of iphound art in Phoenix….enjoy.

13 responses

  1. Beautiful work. There is artwork in Las Vegas, too, that covers the side of a building and is also concerned with dapl. I found it one early morning and posted about it, too.

    February 11, 2017 at 1:23 pm

    • Thanks, Emilio….I went searching/stumbling through this particular blog of yours and didn’t locate it…maybe just need to go back and spend a bit more time….and early mornings are good times to find things…I’ve found…. 😉

      February 18, 2017 at 6:55 am

      • I’ll make it easy for you: http://wp.me/p44x96-11u

        February 18, 2017 at 2:49 pm

        • That is a very nice bit of art, Emilio…thank you for the link. I’ve never been to that part of Las Vegas…are there many other murals in the area?

          February 19, 2017 at 6:52 am

          • There are. And some of the quality just amazes me. I post some from time to time. I was thinking about going down there today but it’s a dreary, rainy day so far.

            February 19, 2017 at 7:17 am

  2. Very nice! (though I very much disagree with your second “here”). 😦

    February 11, 2017 at 2:08 pm

    • Yes, well….

      And thank you, Gunta. 😉

      February 18, 2017 at 6:55 am

  3. The work is truly amazing. Have you ever seen an artist at work? It would be interesting to watch.

    February 11, 2017 at 3:41 pm

    • It certainly is, Tamara…and yes, I have been able to watch one of the artists at work up in Salt Lake. I featured the “interview” in one of my posts…it’s with the “Five on Five” western mural at the back of the gun shop…..right here: https://seekraz.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/city-paint-6-5-becoming-artists-insight/ I was way out of my comfort zone with the interview, but it was interesting, and even fun, so I have only great memories of the event….

      February 18, 2017 at 7:04 am

  4. That mural art continues to be fascinating and incredibly good. What an interesting art form!. I appreciate being able to see it!

    February 11, 2017 at 6:53 pm

    • I’m glad you continue to enjoy it, Terry….

      February 18, 2017 at 7:05 am

  5. What a brilliant piece of art work. These guys are so talented and they often get so little recognition for the hours of work put in to create these extraordinary murals.

    February 15, 2017 at 9:18 am

    • It is brilliant, Andy…and with the internet and our blog efforts, their extraordinary work has now been spread across the world.

      February 18, 2017 at 7:06 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

