A little bit of Superstition….

It was almost 85 miles from my drive-way in the far northwest valley to the trailhead in the extreme southeast valley, just across the county line, just beyond Apache Junction, just past Gold Canyon…and well worth the drive.

Superstition morning - walking the Peralta Trail

Seven hours on and off the trail, almost 300 photos later…an overcast day with the sun barely peeking out from behind the clouds for an hour, and then retreating back behind them….

Weaver's Needle - viewed from the Lone Pine on Fremont Saddle

While I was hiking in near solitude on the way out…it was like fighting an infestation of lice or mites on the second half of the return trip…walking people, talking people, loud people, colorful people, children people, slow people, dogs with people…and people people….

Superstition Mountains - looking southeast from east side of Fremont Saddle

But before the people…the views…the cool morning air…the rocks and greening desert…and the slight murmuring and chuckling of a diminishing canyon stream….

Heading back to the beginning on the Peralta Trail

This was my first trip into the Superstitions…and I will be back.

Superstition Mountains - a different kind of desert

More to follow….

21 responses

  1. I hear it could be an amazing wildflower season in AZ this year. The Superstitions will be quite beautiful in full bloom.

    February 18, 2017 at 7:50 am

    • There has been quite a bit of rain in the last few months, Tamara, so I’m sure you’re right…it should be quite a Spring out there…maybe I’ll be there to witness it for myself…..

      February 20, 2017 at 7:34 am

  2. -N-

    Lovely photos! I understand your annoyance with too many people – the silence of open spaces is what I enjoy. Listening to radios, people, yacking, etc., in a place where birds are singing is sooooooo frustrating!

    February 18, 2017 at 8:11 am

    • Thank you N….yeah, the ones with the music are especially irritating. 😉

      February 20, 2017 at 7:35 am

      • -N-

        I actually told some young, nice kids (late teens?) that the outdoors was not the place to listen to NPR at top volume and that I could hear them a block away. They turned it down. Later, I ran into them again, told them “Thanks” and laughed when they said, “We thought you were going to yell at us again.” “Nah, I just wanted to listen to the birds,” was my reply. “I listen to NPR in the car.”

        February 20, 2017 at 8:06 am

  3. Carol Lightwood

    I’ve never seen the desert so green! The photos are great.

    February 18, 2017 at 10:15 am

    • February is a good month to be out there for the green…it’s quite amazing.

      Thank you.

      February 20, 2017 at 7:36 am

  4. Amazing scenery.

    . . . and apt description of people . . .

    February 18, 2017 at 12:38 pm

    • It was a bit of a surprise to find the desert like that…but I’ll take that kind of surprise…and yes, the people…freaking people…..

      February 20, 2017 at 7:37 am

  5. Sure good to see that area again. It has been a long time. I have spent many wonderful days in the Superstitions hiking and camping in the 70’s and 80’s.

    February 18, 2017 at 8:20 pm

    • There were probably less people out there back then, Terry…..in that near-magical place.

      February 20, 2017 at 7:39 am

  6. A long drive, but I’m glad you did it. What a contrast, out in silence and back in anything but…I bet you were glad you got there as early as you did! I love your description of the canyon stream, and the images make it plain to see why you’ll return….it was good meeting you, and thank you again for the support. It was a terrible thing that happened, but I have to say, Phoenix was very good to me – so many people were friendly and generous and lifted my spirits. I was actually sad to leave in some odd way, but of course, glad to be home.
    So please get back to the Superstitions soon, and take more pictures of those rocks – what gorgeous curves and folds they have! Be well!

    February 18, 2017 at 9:53 pm

    • I’m glad I made the drive, as well, Lynn…not my preference, but there it is anyway…and yes, the damn people. I always go early so that I can be nearly guaranteed of a few hours of true quiet on the trails.

      It was very nice to meet you, too, Lynn…and you are most welcome for the support. I’m glad Phoenix was good to you, as well, given the circumstances.

      I shall get back out there again soon, in the Superstitions…have already been contemplating where to go next.

      February 20, 2017 at 7:44 am

  7. You capture the spirit of the place…..such a vast country…..a mind expanding place….thanks Scott.

    February 19, 2017 at 2:28 am

    • You’re very welcome, John….it’s my pleasure…and mind expanding, indeed….

      February 20, 2017 at 7:46 am

  8. Some days are like that. I saw a lot of people yesterday but they were mostly all on snowmobiles.
    That’s some beautiful country.

    February 19, 2017 at 3:32 pm

    • People and their noise….I encountered some folks on ATVs up in one particular canyon in Utah…they were forbidden in all the others near where I lived.

      Yes it is, quite beautiful.

      February 20, 2017 at 7:48 am

  9. Scott, I loved this series and I’m intrigued by the Superstition Mountains. I’m sure there are a lot of great myths and folklore that originate from these mysterious rock formations. Thanks for sharing your hike. Looking forward to more 🙂

    February 21, 2017 at 2:50 am

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, Erica…and yes, there are a lot of stories about those mountains…lost gold mines, etc. 😉

      February 23, 2017 at 1:49 pm

  10. What an amazing place you’ve discovered. Somehow your sets of receding ridges made me think of my Pacific waves, especially in that second to last shot. Looking forward to seeing more of this nice spot. Hopefully you won’t need to head out at midnight to catch this hike before all the people! They just seem to be EVERYWHERE! Eh?

    February 21, 2017 at 7:34 pm

    • Yes, that is certainly and amazing place, Gunta…and yes, too…those ridges seem very much like ocean waves. I’ll have some more images in the later posts that are very strikingly wave-like. I think sunrise was good enough to beat most of the people at the beginning…it’s the return trip that is always so full of them….EVERYwhere….!

      February 23, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

