Hiking the Peralta Trail – First

The Peralta Trail is just one of the almost 40 trails that one can find in the Superstition Mountains of Arizona.  The mountains are part of the Superstition Wilderness that lies within the confines of the Tonto National Forest. I might have mentioned it in the earlier post, but my visit to this bit of desert a week or so ago was my first….  I have only driven “close” to the area a few times in my two-decades-plus of living in Arizona…and by “close,” I mean maybe within 20 miles…or more.  The photo below was made about 17 minutes before “sunrise” proper, so it’s a little dark…even with some “fill light.”

Starting on the Peralta Trail just before sunrise

I didn’t really know what to expect when I arrived at the canyon.  I did know, however, that I would be following the trail, out and back, so I didn’t research the actual trail, other than to learn where to find the trailhead.  I did not check-out Google’s images of the trail or the mountains.  I wanted everything to be fresh…wanted the neuronal memories to be of things that I actually saw….

Peralta Trail water feature

I spoke with one of the National Forest attendants who was milling around the parking lot and he said that all of the streams had stopped running by then, said they were going earlier in the week with the rains, but that I shouldn’t have any difficulties crossing the stream-beds during the hike.  This one was still actually “running” when I encountered it on the way out, and back several hours later…but it was much nicer when this photo was taken, as I was the only witness of that particular moment of the day….

Peralta Trail green desert morning

Above and below, two images of the same mountain from different perspectives, different times and elevations…further along the trail with the second.  I suppose I could mention here that all of the photos are presented in time order…for this and the following two posts…all the way out and back.

Peralta Trail saguaro cactus and mountains

It was all quite new to me, as I mentioned earlier…a richness of green in the middle of the desert…green at the present because of the Winter rains and cooler temperatures…a seasonal reprieve from what I understand to be hideous temperatures that ride there in the middle of the year months.  The rock battlements in the lower photo were an accompaniment for the greater portion of the first part of the trail…they subsided somewhat…changed, rather, as the trail went further up the canyon.

Peralta Trail red rock battlements

Looking back-trail again in the below photo…amazed again/still at the greenery…

Peralta Trail saguaro and shadow mountains

And then comes the company…at least it was a dog…with a human trailing behind…two of them, actually, but quite ones…a girl-pair with their purple hair…and lip piercings…and water bottles and backpacks…on the trail of a Sunday morning…

Peralta Trail company approaches

*****

Peralta Trail rocks and mountains

I guess the one above is a closer view of the one below…climbing higher again.

Peralta Trail gaining elevation

…and this one, too….

Peralta Trail still higher

….anyway, it was damn beautiful out there and my sense of amazement only grew as the trail climbed in elevation….

Peralta Trail purple mountains' majesty

Pretty and crazy rocks….

16 responses

  1. Damned beautiful indeed! Pity about the many people (& dogs & noise). At least you seem to be able to handle getting up before the crack of dawn for some quiet interval.

    February 23, 2017 at 11:46 am

    • Yes, it’s a pretty easy thing for me to get up and out there before the hordes descend on the trails….. 😉

      February 23, 2017 at 1:53 pm

  2. Mike Hohmann

    Great photos, I’ve got to get out there. I especially liked the shot of the dog w/ pack coming up the trail… not as scenic as others, it’s just me and my thing for dogs w/ packs! Beautiful country that’s for sure! Thanks!

    February 23, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    • Thanks Mike…be sure to get out there before it gets too hot….

      February 27, 2017 at 8:01 pm

  3. I do like Western scenery, and as places go, this one looks very nice.

    February 23, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    • It is very nice, Emilio….minus the people, of course.

      February 27, 2017 at 8:02 pm

  4. Gorgeous! I love seeing it again!

    February 23, 2017 at 8:30 pm

    • Glad I could share it with you, Terry!

      February 27, 2017 at 8:02 pm

  5. It won’t be long now before I get to enjoy it in person! Love the pack-dog!

    February 25, 2017 at 4:35 am

    • It will still be there when you get here…. 😉

      February 27, 2017 at 8:02 pm

  6. That’s a beautiful place with some beautiful views. Well worth the effort, I’d say.

    February 26, 2017 at 2:28 pm

    • Definitely worth the effort, Allen.

      February 27, 2017 at 8:03 pm

  7. LB

    If (when!) I ever get back to Arizona. I’ll hire you to take me to this beautiful place.
    incredible!

    February 26, 2017 at 3:58 pm

    • You know where to find me. 😉

      February 27, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

