Liberty Park, Salt Lake City – Cottonwood Abstracts

As some of you might recall, I recently returned to Salt Lake City for my first visit since leaving there almost three years ago.  You might also recall that when I did live there, I frequented Liberty Park numerous times…it was a favorite destination for my lunch-time walks and Saturday morning drive-abouts.

Liberty Park was such a favorite place of mine that I even dedicated a separate “Category” to it because I made so many photographs there that I later featured here on the blog.

After having lived in the desert for over 20 years, before moving to Salt Lake City, it was nearly mind-bogglingly amazing (to me) to see trees of such stature…of such age…and in the Spring and Summer, so marvelously adorned with millions (?) of leaves that provided such excellent shade.

My return visit to the park found me staring skyward again, very likely looking like a tourist…again…amazed…and in awe….

I believe that I have shared this link in at least one other post on Liberty Park, but here it is again for those of you who might be interested in the park and its amenities…click here….

And if you’re interested in the trees themselves, you can click here to read a very small narrative about their presence in the park.

And lastly, you can click here to be taken to a continuous scroll of all of the posts that I have shared on Liberty Park, as found by clicking on the “Liberty Park” category at the far bottom right corner of this page.  Coincidentally, the first post is from six years ago next week…April 9, 2011…..

Thanks for visiting….

14 responses

  1. The late 1800’s eh? Amazing they survived this long but people are obviously glad they did.

    Scrolled the photos . . . I knew most of them, but a couple I had either forgotten or missed before. Nice.

    April 5, 2017 at 1:05 am

    • Wow…sorry about the delay…(blush)…..

      Yes, the late 1800s…or so they say. I’m one of the ones who are glad they survived. In the top image, you might be able to discern the smaller trees toward the sidewalk side of each row of the cottonwoods…I think the park curators are trying to be prepared for when the giants go the way of the sawmill…..

      Thanks for checking-out the other photos, too…the winter ones are some of my favorites from my time up there….

      May 2, 2017 at 9:29 pm

      • No worries; I always assume people have a life outside the blog and that it takes precedence.

        May 2, 2017 at 10:30 pm

  2. Yes, trees are the most magnificent adventures of nature; both mighty and grand, and walking amongst them is a wonderful experience. A world devoid of them would be barren indeed. I loved exploring your memories. I do hope that the little one got to go canoeing again.

    April 5, 2017 at 4:04 am

    • Thank you, John…those memories…those trees….sigh. And no, the little one didn’t get to go canoeing again…I guess we could say that Life got in the way….

      May 2, 2017 at 9:30 pm

      • As it happens, life got in the way of my reply….we’ve been away for 10 days…the good and the sad….funeral and then visiting the latest granddaughter ….pictures may follow!

        May 6, 2017 at 10:27 am

  3. Beautiful patterns of the branches.

    April 5, 2017 at 5:31 pm

    • Yes, they are, Cindy….

      May 2, 2017 at 9:31 pm

  4. Thanks for the lovely walk again through those lovely trees.

    April 6, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    • I spent a nice afternoon there with you…one of my host of memories from the park…. You’re welcome, dear Gunta. 🙂

      May 2, 2017 at 9:31 pm

  5. Your appreciation for the place and the trees shines through – it’s good that you had a chance to go back, and I hope you will again before too long. The snowy park photos you took must make you drool in Phoenix summers! I like the way you concentrated on this one aspect, or slice, of the Cottonwoods – the complex patterns their trunks and branches make.

    April 7, 2017 at 10:02 am

    • I did and do love the place, Lynn…and am happy to know that the sentiment shines through. I will get up there again in the middle of June and hope to spend about three days hiking some old and new trails…to mend the heart, to break the heart, and to make more memories. And yes, those winter photos of the park are so very inviting when the temperatures rise down here…..

      May 2, 2017 at 9:34 pm

  6. Love these trees, Scott. The desert and the arctic, two places we won’t find amazing trees like that. I miss them. Thanks for this lovely post. The patterns made by the branches are mesmerizing. Glad you got to visit the park during your visit.

    April 28, 2017 at 2:12 am

    • You are correct,Erica…no huge trees like these up in your stomping grounds…and we usually only find them here in the desert along waterways…and they are such a sweet surprise when I encounter them!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the patterns in the branches, as well…they’re quite compelling. 🙂

      May 2, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

