Desert light….

By far, I have found it best to be on these desert trails shortly after sunrise, or within the first hour thereafter….

…the light is more pleasant and provides for greater character in the subjects found along the way.

Two Sundays ago found me hiking south on the Black Canyon Trail from the Bumble Bee trailhead.  I have hiked this stretch of the trail once before…on a sweetly cloudy day in July of last year.

I didn’t go as far with this present hike, as the day’s heat was growing more oppressive and casting something of an ugly hue on everything that caught my eye.

I didn’t get out hiking in the earlier part of Spring, and have therefore missed the rich greenness that all of these wild grasses and flowers must have added to the area.

I love the pearl-like clusters of the creosote or grease-wood bushes…especially when the morning light is behind them.

The desert, overall, wasn’t especially attractive on this particular morning, but when I stopped along the trail to look more closely, I found plenty to admire.

All of these images are from the first two and a half hours heading out on the trail.

And in the photo below, a glance skyward brings a reminder of what can happen if one tarries too long…..

 

10 responses

  1. Nice, especially the first photo.

    June 3, 2017 at 2:37 pm

  2. You are certainly right about the early morning light and especially in the desert.

    June 3, 2017 at 3:21 pm

    • It’s been my experience, Terry….

      June 4, 2017 at 1:50 pm

  3. Henry Riffe

    Amazing shots!

    June 3, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    • Thank you, Henry. 🙂

      June 4, 2017 at 1:50 pm

  4. I did manage some early mornings in the desert when we camped. It certainly was delightful to catch the lighting as you described and captured it. The peace and serenity adds a bunch to the experience as well (as long as we weren’t parked too close to a monster RV with generator!) O_o

    June 4, 2017 at 9:01 pm

    • I remember some of your desert photo, Gunta…you represented it well…and yes, that peace and serenity does make up for other short-comings out there…mostly 😉

      June 11, 2017 at 3:31 pm

  5. The ending made me laugh. You know, even up here, I get what you mean by the day’s heat growing and casting an unpleasant light on everything – it just doesn’t happen NEARLY as often up here. Sorry you weren’t able to get out much in the cooler season, but I do love what you focused on here – the “pearls” in the creosote are gorgeous in that photo – you caught it. The dried grasses glow warmly, and their fine textures mingle – another thing I like about dry places. A beautiful post, Scott, thanks!

    June 5, 2017 at 12:39 pm

    • On those especially hot days, I see those birds up there and hope they don’t aren’t circling for a reason that I don’t know about yet…..

      I will have to purpose to get out there earlier next year…rather, at the end of this year and into the early part of next year. It’s just not good to not do so. Thank you for the nice words, Lynn….

      June 11, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

