Hiking the Peralta Trail – Last

It was five months ago yesterday that I took the hike and made these photos, so I should probably finish the series and post the images that have been sitting here in draft form since February…

Peralta Trail Superstition Mountain stacks and waves

You might remember from the previous posts that there was a chance of rain and that the skies were overcast for most of the hike….  You might remember, as well, that the significant landscape feature of the hike was Weaver’s Needle….

Peralta Trail Weaver's Needle and Pinion Pine perspective

I had hiked out to that lone pinion pine in the above photo and made some closer-up images of the Needle…and also in the above photo, if you can imagine us to the far right and out of frame, that is where I was when I made the first image of this post, looking south and east from that bit of a plateau that leads to the pine tree.  I was heading back to the Fremont Saddle to descend the trail on the hillside that would take me down and to the west of the Needle when I made the above photo.

Peralta Trail approaching Weaver's Needle from the southwest

On the level trail now, still looking at the southern aspect of the Needle…in among the rich desert foliage that was largely unfamiliar to me, but contained some type of willow, mesquite, and occasional palo-verde.

Peralta Trail Weaver's Needle water feature

It had rained earlier in the week and the park ranger said all the streams had stopped flowing.  The rushing course had stopped, but the water was still seeping slowly in the deeper parts of the canyon, still moving enough that I could hear the occasional trickling that seemed so out of place in my surroundings.

Peralta Trail delicate desert in the Superstition Mountains

The desert is not all dessication and waste….

Peralta Trail Weaver's Needle from the north

If I had more time, I would have enjoyed climbing the hill, walking around the Needle, and capturing some images of what the prominence looked-like up close and personal.

Peralta Trail Weaver's Needle and Peralta Canyon

Looking at Weaver’s Needle from the north…the Fremont Saddle is reached by going back through that rich path of green toward the right and climbing the switchback trail up to the lower portion of the horizon just below the patch of blue in the photo above.

Peralta Trail Weaver's Needle and blue sky

Clearing skies on the way back…looking toward the north…

Peralta Trail - Peralta Canyon with Weaver's Needle panorama

And then the broader view, looking north again, from the beginning of the switchback trail leading up to the Fremont Saddle.

Peralta Trail Tolkien Towers and the Superstition Mountains

One of the last photos I made of the hike back, heading down the trail from the Saddle, through the “hordes” of other hikers making their way up to it; I stopped to capture an image of the rolling purple waves of the Superstition Mountains…and the Tolkienesque sandstone spires that adorned the ridge of the western aspect of Peralta Canyon.

If you’d like to take another look at the earlier two posts on the Peralta Trail, you can click here and here.

As always…thank you for visiting.  I hope you enjoyed the little glimpse into Arizona’s Superstition Mountains.

17 responses

  1. You have some outstanding photos of that area! The best I’ve seen!

    July 22, 2017 at 8:23 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…it’s a beautiful place!

      July 30, 2017 at 11:56 am

  2. Carol Lightwood

    Love these! And clearly remember the earlier one you posted from this area!

    July 22, 2017 at 8:38 pm

  3. You do the place justice with both words and photos.

    July 22, 2017 at 8:52 pm

    • Thank you, Emilio…there was some good solitude to be had past the saddle….

      July 30, 2017 at 11:58 am

  4. Really nice set, Scott. I’m wondering if you made any images using that lone pinyon pine as a foreground element…

    July 23, 2017 at 7:31 pm

    • Thank you, Kerry…the second set has an image with the pinion pine in the foreground…it adds a very different perspective….

      July 30, 2017 at 11:59 am

  5. always love to see your post Scott. They always bring back memories of when I lived there and other post which you have done. I love your words and pictures thank you for sharing. Hope you have a great week. ❤ Kat

    July 23, 2017 at 9:24 pm

    • Thank you for the kind words, Kat…and wishing you well, also. 🙂

      July 30, 2017 at 11:59 am

  6. Wow, Scott, these are all superb! I love those rocks (do I always say that?). The photo of dew on the grass and moss is fun to see here, and I like your description of what little water was left. The pale blue hills, range upon range into the distance, are mesmerizing. You put us into the scene with your words and images. Even if I were there, I don’t think I could hike one fourth of what you do, so the photos are a treat.

    July 24, 2017 at 6:34 pm

    • Thank you very much, Lynn…the words are a little more difficult than the images, sometimes. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂

      July 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm

  7. Makes me want to pack up the RV and head there right now!

    July 26, 2017 at 7:43 am

    • It’ll be there a-waitin’….. 🙂

      July 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm

  8. coolxkid89

    Great read!!! Love the hiking tale 🙂 I gave ya a follow. I have a few hiking tales myself you might enjoy, would appreciate the follow back. But otherwise thanks for the tips and story 🙂

    August 10, 2017 at 7:19 am

  9. Liana

    cinematically perfect

    August 15, 2017 at 10:04 am

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

