On West Pierce – Part II

After leaving the apartments, I drove to the jail to have a chat with the guy.  My job required that I interview him and try to get more contact-information…disease intervention stuff.  While that was my reason for going to the jail, officially, I also wanted to see what kind of person this Carlos was.  I wanted to see, for myself, what the textbooks and psychologists have been talking about all these years when they discussed ‘anti-social personality-disorder,’ or ‘psychopath,’ or ‘sociopath.’  It was just my opinion, of course, but what else could he be to conduct himself the way he had during these recent events?   

 

The buildings and other vehicles passed thru my periphery in something of a blur as I drove from the neighborhood of West Pierce and into downtown Phoenix where I would find the Madison jail, and inside – this guy, or man, or Black man, or 20-some-year-old male, or person, or living-breathing human organism, or creature, or thing, or whatever he was, who would try to rape a 73 year-old woman.  What type of being would do that?  What type of person could do that and then go home, kiss and hug his mother, and then ask her about her day, or if her knees have been bothering her, or if she went to the doctor like she said she was going to do last week?  How could he pick-up his three year-old niece and nephew, toss them into the air, catch them, and then smother them with whiskery kisses and tell them that he loves them?  Is that possible?  Is it possible, too, that this type of person could have, earlier in the day, lain down with his girlfriend and made tender, passionate love, gently caressing her skin, body, and soul, tenderly moving the long strands of black hair out of her face so he could look into her eyes at that one, terminating moment?  Would he be capable of something as gentle, or tender, or as humanly passionate as that?  I doubt it.

 

It’s more likely that he went home and asked his mom for money, opened the fridge and pulled several, deep swigs of milk directly out of the jug, asked his mom for money again, and then pushed the nephew out of his way and picked up the niece and set her on the table – getting her out of his way, too, as he went to the cabinet and rummaged through whatever dry goods he hadn’t pilfered the week before.  “You know my check don’t go very far, Carlos.”  No, it doesn’t, not with the twins (his niece and nephew), their mother (his 19 year-old sister), and her own nine and ten year-old boys (his half-brothers) – all living off of her one income and the little that AFDC gives her.  “Well don’ you have nothin’ left from it?  I need some money.”  His mom’s face twists about as she tries to keep herself from starting-in on him again.  “He hates it when I do that,” she thinks to herself.  “Then why don’t you get a job, boy?  Quit smokin’ that rock ever’ day n’ night, n’ get a damn job!” – words that echoed in her mind alone.

 

And making love with his girlfriend – no, there was no love made that afternoon.  One person got satisfied, that’s all.  There was no tenderness to speak of – unless ‘tenderness’ means that he didn’t’ rip her clothes this time.  They were removed without passion, and after a few quick squeezes of her breasts, he pushed her onto the bed and mounted her.  She wasn’t ready, of course, so it hurt while he was moving on top of her, and then it burned when he was done.  “So quick,” she thought, and was glad when he rolled off of her and went into the bathroom.  “Gotta take a quick piss so no female burns me,” he said with an almost benign chuckle, standing there at the bowl, waiting for the muscles to relax enough for the stream to flow, “can’t trust anyone, know what I’m sayin?”  “Yeah,” she thought, “I know what you’re sayin’.  I noticed a rash last week, Bastard – bumps and spots starting to grow on my shit down there.  What’s that mean, Mother Fucker?”           

 

The blood had already been drawn when I got to the jail, so I didn’t have the opportunity to jab the needle into his arm myself. 

 

“Been looking for you, Carlos.”

 

“Why’s that, man?”

 

“You been messin’ with someone and caught syphilis.”

 

“Who told you that?”

 

“I spoke to someone who’s being treated for syphilis and they said they mess with you.  So, we don’t know if she gave it to you, or if you were doin’ someone else and caught it, and then gave it to the person I talked with.”

 

“Okay, so who’d you talk to?  Some female?”

 

“You mess with guys?”

 

“No.”

 

“Alright then, it was ‘some female.’” 

 

“Yeah, but which one?”

 

“I can’t tell you who it was.  I’m not allowed to.  We got rules, you know.  Like you and your lawyer, your public defender.  You guys can talk and he can’t tell anyone what you said, right?  Well it’s the same with us.  Medical confidentiality.  It’s the law and I can’t say anything that’s gonna make you know who it is.  But, that person asked me to get in touch with you to make sure you get treated.  That way, they won’t catch it back from you when you get out of here.  You know what I’m sayin’?”

 

“Yeah, but that’s fucked-up, man.  People be sayin’ shit about me and I can’t know who it is.”

 

“Nobody’s talkin’ shit about you, Carlos.  The person had syphilis.  I read the chart and saw the blood-test results.  They just wanna make sure you get cured.” 

 

“Whatever, man.  I still say it’s fucked-up.” 

 

“Okay, so it’s fucked-up.  What else is fucked-up, Carlos?  Why are you in here?”

 

“Had some problems with some dudes, you know what I’m sayin’?  They said I stole some of their shit and then the cops were lookin’ for me.  This shit happened a long time ago.  I don’ know why they’re still after me.  So then I was at these apartments last week and BAM!, there they were.  And now I’m here.  I told you man, it’s fucked-up, you know what I’m sayin’?”

 

“That’s why you’re here?”

 

“Yeah, it’s fucked-up.”

 

I already knew the truth, so when my anger and disgust for him overwhelmed my sense of responsibility for the job, I didn’t care anymore.  I went ahead and took a chance at fucking-up the rest of the interview.  I had already decided that he wasn’t going to give me shit anyway, so to hell with it.  It was unlikely that he had, or was going to have sex with anyone I knew, so I thought, “What the hell.  This wouldn’t be my first bust-interview and it wouldn’t be my last.”  Sometimes the job just didn’t get done the way it was supposed to, and usually it wasn’t my fault.  Today, I didn’t care that it was, or would be. 

 

“Well, that’s not what I heard.  When I was out on the street looking for you, someone told me you beat-up some old lady, really kicked her ass.  What’s that about?  They said you really beat on her, punched her in the face, ripped her pants off, tried to fuck her, and then stole a bunch of her shit.  Is that what it’s about?  Is that why you’re here, ‘cause you tried to rape some old lady and then stole her cell phone an’ shit?”

 

He didn’t care – didn’t give a flyin’ fuck what I thought he’d done.  He stopped shuffling about the room in his flip-flopped feet and fixed his dead, empty eyes on mine and said, “Fuck that, man.  You got it all wrong.” 

 

Unimpressed, and still operating outside of my normal realm, I stared back with contemptuous, angry eyes.  “Really?”

 

After a moment, he broke away, and turned to shuffle back and forth, again, on his side of the exam table.  And now, with less conviction, “It’s not like that at all, man.  I was over to the apartments and this old lady starts throwin’ my shit at me, you know what I’m sayin’, gittin’ in my face an’ shit.  So I hit her, BAM!  Told her to get the fuck out of my face, you know what I’m sayin’, an’ then I hit her, once.  An’ the rest of that shit, like tryin’ to rape her an’ shit, that’s fucked.  I got all the pussy I want, man.  Wouldn’t try gittin’ it from some old lady.  Someone’s lyin’ to your ass.” 

 

“Is that right?  Old lady’s got her head busted open, choke marks on her neck, bruises all up and down her thighs – someone seen you doin’ it, they called the cops who came and arrested you, an’ now your ass is sitting here in jail saying it’s not you.  Okay.  Right.  Whatever.  Anyway, had to get that shit squared away in my own mind before we went any further.”

 

“Naw, it ain’t me, man.  Not all that shit.  I got my own female to mess with.  I don’ need to fuck that ol’ bitch.”

 

“Right.  Like I said, I just needed to get that shit squared away in my own head before I do the rest of my job here.  So…who else you mess with?  You’re usually around 21st Avenue and Van Buren, or Adams, right?  Who’d you mess with around there?  I already have you named by three or four females, so I need you to tell me your side of the story.”  And then, for effect, I added, “So I can make sure people aren’t just talkin’ shit about you.”  He responded with a quick, sideways glance.  I couldn’t help smiling as I said, “You know what I’m sayin’?”

 

And it went from there.  I didn’t screw things up too badly.  He still talked to me.  Before the interview, I only had his one contact, the young pregnant girl who was the original patient.  By the time the investigation was closed, there were three other cases related to Carlos.  Unfortunately, there were too many unknown contacts from the five cases, and we couldn’t take the investigation any further.  This is not uncommon, considering the area and the traffic it gets – transients, prostitutes, drug dealers, child-stealers, passers-by…anyone who comes to West Pierce Street. 

 

 

6 responses

  1. Great “story” my friend! I never thought a job with the Health Department could be so interesting. And you tell it so well! And whoever says you don’t have a quick-witted sense of humor is wrong. And I quote…

    “Okay, so who’d you talk to? Some female?”

    “You mess with guys?”

    “No.”

    “Alright then, it was ‘some female.’”

    Great stuff.

    December 9, 2009 at 9:34 am

    • seekraz

      Thank you for the comments and nice words, Jason…and yes, the job with the health department was so very interesting…we dealt with the same people who call us on 9-1-1 or who are the bad-guys in the other half of the situation, but it was face to face and we were exposed to more details of their lives…way interesting, my friend. Thanks man. 🙂

      December 9, 2009 at 10:47 am

  2. Norva-Toreador

    WOW~~ look like the job with the health department was interesting 😉
    nice story XD

    December 9, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    • seekraz

      Yes, it was interesting. We got to see a part of life that doesn’t make it to the newspapers or TV…real stuff…and got to participate by seeing first-hand and feeling the emotions that accompany those experiences. Thank you again for visiting the blog and leaving a comment. I do appreciate it. 🙂

      December 9, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  3. I dont know if you’ve noticed this.
    P.s this has nothing to do with this post I just decided to comment on the most recent thing written

    Every single one of your posts
    is written on an odd day
    1,3,5,7,9

    Im not sure if you meant to do that.
    But I like it.
    A lot.

    Heh, maybe there’s a little odd in all of us!
    I have posted three times this evening and am nowhere close to stopping / sleeping.

    This should be fun.
    Anyways, thank you for the comments. I did read a blog post of yours that I enjoyed.. Although i can’t remember the name…
    sigh.

    Anyways!! Ta ta

    -xescape

    December 9, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    • seekraz

      Well, thank you, Xescape…I hadn’t noticed the post dates…how clever of you to do so, though! But yes, there is at least a little bit of ‘odd’ in all of us. Good for you for writing so much today. I’ll have to check it out again. And you’re welcome for the comments on your blog. I’d be interested in knowing which post you enjoyed. Take care…and enjoy your writing. 🙂

      December 9, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

