City Paint Phoenix 12 – Cabezas Curiosas

Driving through the city on my way to work a few weeks ago, I happened to look south and spied a couple of faces staring back at me.  I had time to spare before I had to clock-in at the office, so I parked the truck on a side street and took a little walk with my camera.

cabezas curiosas mural from afar

Moving a little closer, and a little to the east to get the tree out of the way….

cabezas curiosas mural closer look

I walked down the street a bit and attempted to approach the mural from the property entrance to the left of the mural and found that there was yet more….

more cabezas curiosas

Three more faces, two of the masked people and….a snowman?  Given that this wall was right at the entrance to the parking lot of a small apartment building, there was no problem gaining access and taking a few closer shots.

second mural of cabezas curiosas

Enjoy the gallery….and remember that you can click on any image to be taken to a sort of slide-show that allows you to view each image in a larger format.

As I was heading back to the truck, I happened to glance across the street and found yet another Cabeza Curiosa mural….

I found these murals on buildings located at the intersection of 7th Street and Pierce, just east of downtown proper in Phoenix, Arizona.  As you can see in three of the images above, the artist is listed as “@t_krank” on Twitter, Tyson Krank, and you can follow this link to a short article about him in one of the local newspapers.

I hope you enjoyed this latest presentation of the City Paint Phoenix series.  You can see other posts of Phoenix’s street art, and Salt Lake City’s, as well, by scrolling to the bottom of the page, finding the “Categories” widget, and clicking on “Street Art – Graffiti.”

10 responses

  1. Amazing. Thank you, love, nia

    June 27, 2015 at 11:39 pm

    • Yes, it is rather amazing, isn’t it, Nia? 🙂

      June 30, 2015 at 8:09 pm

  2. I love the pen and ink look of some of the portraits. So intricate. Don’t you just love it when you stumble on such amazing artwork?!?!

    June 28, 2015 at 2:50 am

    • Yes, I enjoy this kind of surprise. 🙂

      June 30, 2015 at 8:09 pm

  3. Very unique. I kept going back to the woman in the first one. Perhaps a style I prefer? The snowman was a bit incongruous. Nice stuff as usual.

    June 28, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    • I have found several other examples of that particular woman in the neighboring “art district.” I’ll have to get them out of the folders and share them sometime…. 🙂

      June 30, 2015 at 8:10 pm

  4. I admire the artwork, but I have to wonder if I could tolerate that kind of thing around me all of the time where I worked or where I lived.

    June 28, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    • I’m right there with you, Terry…I enjoy driving past these guys out on the street, but wouldn’t want them right outside of my window at my home or work…they would become overbearing.

      June 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

  5. Nice find and thanks for adding the link it was an interesting article.

    June 30, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    • You’re welcome, Captain. 🙂

      June 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

