Desert Vista Trail to Union Peak

I had passed the sign for the trail-head several times last week…and found that it was compelling enough to cause me to Google-it to learn more about it.  This trail is part of The City of Phoenix’s Sonora Desert Preserve…and you can click on the highlighted name…and then click on the link to the map to see exactly where I went.  If you click on the link to the map, scroll down to the bottom and then scoot over to the middle of the large map to see the course of the Desert Vista trail.  I started at the trail-head, followed the Hawk’s Nest, to the Desert Tortoise, then followed the Valle Verde Trail to the Horned Owl Trail to the Union Peak trail, back down and to the right, following the loop of the Great Trail back up to the Valle Verde, to the Desert Tortoise, Hawk’s Nest and to the trail-head again.  I made over 100 photographs during the hike and the following gallery presents what I think are 13 of the better images.  Please remember, if you click on any image, it will take you to a slide-show that will give you the opportunity to click on the images again to see them in a larger format.  Thank you for visiting and sharing a few minutes of your time with me…I hope you enjoy the hike!

22 responses

  1. Great photos! I love the use of contrast.
    -Bethany

    November 19, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    • Thank you, Bethany. 🙂

      November 19, 2014 at 6:50 pm

  2. Very nice scenery . . . the kind I like to lose myself in. I can see me driving those roads, walking those paths.

    I hate to say it (people say that, but they would not do so if it were true), but I prefer this to the many forested paths and places from your previous haunt.

    I guess I’ve been ‘westernized’ in my nine years here in Colorado.

    November 19, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    • I’m glad you enjoy it, Emilio…I think it’s very nice, too…just not very hiking-friendly all year-round…not to my liking (year-round) anyway. I prefer the mountainous terrain and forested trails of my former haunt, but this is still pretty nice.

      November 26, 2014 at 9:39 pm

  3. Beautiful stuff, Scott. Looks like you’re settling into your new groove! 🙂

    November 19, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    • Thank you, Gunta. And El Sol is much friendlier at this time of year, so it’s easier to be out there getting into the groove. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm

  4. Every post makes me look at my countdown calendar for my trip to Quartzsite! Thanks for taking us along.

    November 20, 2014 at 2:52 am

    • You’re welcome for the hike, Laura…I’ll look forward to seeing what you bring back for us after your trip out here in a few months. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:42 pm

  5. Great scenery. I like those small fuzzy light colored cacti, if that’s what they are.

    November 20, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    • Those “fuzzy light colored cacti,” if I’m understanding properly which ones you mean (in the foreground of the last photo and the one to the left and just above the last one) are Teddy Bear Cholla or Jumping Cholla…and there’s nothing soft and fuzzy about them, but the morning light coming through the spines certainly makes them appear that way. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm

  6. Beautiful photos, Scott! You sure know how to make me miss the desert!

    November 20, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    • Thank you, Terry…glad I can be here for you…you just keep posting all of your freakingly-beautiful Montana scenery for me so my mountain-hungry heart can live vicariously through your photos. 🙂

      November 26, 2014 at 9:49 pm

  7. These are wonderfully atmospheric and representative at the same time.

    November 22, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    • Thank you, Lynn….

      November 26, 2014 at 9:50 pm

  8. Liana

    how quiet and comforting . . . a meditative montage

    November 23, 2014 at 5:57 am

    • I like your words, Liana…thank you.

      November 26, 2014 at 9:51 pm

  9. LB

    Wonderful hike! The desert provides much more opportunity for open vistas, doesn’t it?

    November 24, 2014 at 10:38 am

    • Yes…I guess you can tell that it’s kinda wide-open out there…. 😉

      November 26, 2014 at 9:51 pm

  10. Great scenery, Scott. A wonderful hike indeed. 🙂

    December 1, 2014 at 6:26 am

  11. settleandchase

    So different to our landscapes here, I find these views so fascinating. And love the small haloed cacti! 🙂

    December 7, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    • Yes, it is quite different…almost like another world. 🙂

      December 13, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

