Fisher Point perspective

Just over two years ago, I took my first “Arizona hike.”  I had journeyed up to the Coconino National Forest just south of Flagstaff and ventured along part of the Arizona Trail to the convenient turn-around location of “Fisher Point.”  In reflecting upon this particular landscape feature, I have referred to it as a stone tee-pee, as that’s how it appears….

Lewis Point with stone tee-pee and human perspective

I suppose the mass might appear to be large enough on its own, but I thought the miniature human bodies would help provide a bit more perspective.  The “doorway” of the bottom of the rock is a bit of a cave that doesn’t go too far into the rock…maybe 20-30 feet.  Fisher Point, by the way (unless I’m mistaken), is atop this particular stone tee-pee.  There is a trail that takes curious hikers up through the draw to the left of this rock, winds up and along the hillside, and finally deposits them at a safe distance from the edge that still allows a greater view of the canyons and meadows that exist around the Point.

28 responses

  1. That’s an impressive rock formation.

    . . . I would call it “wall of faces” since I see a number of profiles in the features of the rocks.

    August 7, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    • That would be a good name, as well, Emilio…weathered faces, worn, strained, streaked with time…and maybe even a bit of emotion….

      August 21, 2016 at 5:17 pm

      • Not much – stoic, they be.

        August 21, 2016 at 5:45 pm

  2. Has it been that long? That great cave mouth would seem to indicate a much larger interior than you describe, and I can easily envision folk from the past taking more or less permanent refuge in such an inviting shelter.

    August 7, 2016 at 6:13 pm

    • It has been that long, Gary…and I, too, thought of the ancient ones who may have stopped at the cave for a while or longer….

      August 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm

  3. Oh, do I love that rock! I’m glad the people are there – otherwise I’d never realize it’s that big. Thanks for posting – great to hear from you, Scott.

    August 7, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    • It’s a rather striking feature, isn’t it, Lynn? And yes, the people seem to be necessary in this one…. I have another image without them, nearly the exact angle, etc., and it’s hard to gauge the scale. I’m glad to be here, too….thank you. 🙂

      August 21, 2016 at 5:23 pm

  4. Wow, I can’t believe it has been 2 years already! The people certainly do give a great sense of scale. As krikitarts said, you’d think the cave would be bigger.

    August 8, 2016 at 4:22 am

    • Yes, it has been two years, Laura…it’s crazy how the time passes.

      August 21, 2016 at 5:24 pm

  5. Amazing geology and your description fits perfectly Scott! 🙂

    August 8, 2016 at 10:12 am

    • It is amazing, Adrian….and thank you. 🙂

      August 21, 2016 at 5:24 pm

  6. Splendid!

    August 8, 2016 at 11:54 am

    • Thank you, Lemony!

      August 21, 2016 at 5:35 pm

  7. What an impressive tower of rock! I wonder how I missed that while roaming around in Arizona!

    August 8, 2016 at 8:57 pm

    • There’s a lot to see and I’m pretty sure you saw a bunch of it…I guess you just missed this tiny corner of the state!

      August 21, 2016 at 5:36 pm

  8. No way can it be 2 years already. Time flies when you’re having loads of fun. I miss Arizona more than I can say not the heat no but other things that I didn’t realize I would miss until I moved so far away and hook up with your blogs and saw the landscape and the other things from my memories and knew that someday I would go back to visit and stay for a while. LOL Back to this blog sorry. I always love what you write you make places come alive like I’m standing there and seeing the whole thing all over again. You have a wonderful talent not only with pictures but with words thank you for sharing your life through your blogs. Have a awesome week Scott. Kat

    August 9, 2016 at 5:49 am

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post, Kat….maybe you’ll get back here and can make some more memories for yourself. 🙂

      August 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      • Maybe I will but the last time I lived in Tolinson it was still a two income city and now that Carl is gone I only have one income…so I’m not sure when I could come but I would love to live there again…I loved it there except for the heat and hot…but I have that in either of the other states I love too…Florida and Texas…Love Kat

        August 21, 2016 at 8:24 pm

  9. Liana

    Transported! I am inside that hidey-hole and working on the incantation that opens the rock . . . thanks for bringing me here.

    August 9, 2016 at 6:35 am

    • I, too, imagined certain chantings and the pine smoke rising up through the cracks in the rock ceiling….. Most welcome, Liana….

      August 21, 2016 at 5:38 pm

  10. A phenomenal piece of rock and the people really give it scale. Their inclusion really makes the picture. Great shot, Scott.

    August 10, 2016 at 1:25 am

    • Thank you, Andy….I’m glad it worked out well.

      August 21, 2016 at 5:39 pm

  11. That’s quite a rock! It does look like a huge stone tee pee.

    August 10, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    • I rather thought so…. 🙂

      August 21, 2016 at 5:39 pm

  12. LB

    It’s been two years since you moved to Arizona! Time flies, and I remember your first hikes.
    So glad you included the humans in this post. WOW! Must be so cool to see this in person!

    August 14, 2016 at 10:11 am

    • Yes, it certainly has, LB….and it was so very cool to see it in person. 🙂

      August 21, 2016 at 5:40 pm

  13. That’s quite a rock… errr, teepee! The humans definitely add a bit of scale. Good shooting there, Scott!

    August 14, 2016 at 9:04 pm

    • Thank you, Miss Gunta!

      August 21, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

