Church/Barn Door…?

The image was collected on inspiration by Mike and his look at life…doors being a recurrent theme in his blog.  I’ve been walking past this door and its building for over a year on my lunch-time walks…and have been wondering at the building for the entire time.  It is located in a central city neighborhood in Salt Lake City and appears to have been built in the very early part of the last century.  The whole structure reminds me of barns that I used to see when I lived in Germany, but there are windows on the side of the building (on the right side and perpendicular to the side viewed in this photo) that are rather tall and arching…as would be found on a church.  Regardless of what the building was in its former usefulness, it now appears to be only a relic of that former time and used to house assorted junk and other items that simply have not been hauled-away yet.

14 responses

  1. There is something very appealing about buildings in decay.. nicely captured! 🙂

    March 10, 2012 at 6:52 am

    • I agree, Chillbrook…thank you. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 7:00 am

  2. Mysterious and beautiful!

    March 10, 2012 at 6:52 am

    • Thank you, Madhu. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 7:01 am

  3. Texture, color, and rotting things……now you know I like that.

    March 10, 2012 at 8:05 am

    • Yes, I do, Mike…I’m glad you like them. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 8:08 am

  4. Absolutely Mike, I concur! This is a portrait ready to hang!

    March 10, 2012 at 8:09 am

    • Wow…thank you, Bonnie! 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 8:22 am

  5. I does sort of allude to a former simple elegance, now in lovely decay.

    The hits of orange and red really balance the image in an interesting way. Very nice Scott.

    March 10, 2012 at 9:43 am

    • Nice words, Karen…”lovely decay.” Thank you. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 9:49 am

  6. Arched windows don’t come cheap, so whoever built it didn’t skimp. I love windows like that and wish I had them on this house.

    March 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    • You are probably right, New Hampshire…so maybe not a barn, then. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm

  7. Definitely not a barn. Great capture of the decay and age.
    (I’m a great fan of photographing doorways too – I think they make great subjects)

    March 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    • Probably not, Victoria, but that was the first impression…maybe it was the cracked plaster and what I am able to see of the rest of the building during my walks. I agree with you (and Mike), doorways do make great subjects…compelling somehow…with possibilities. Thank you. 🙂

      March 11, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Thank you for visiting...it would be great to hear from you....

