Archive for September 28, 2012

Antelope Island in September

You might remember my earlier posts, Field Trip to Antelope Island and Antelope Island – Part II, from February and March of this year.  I had planned on returning to the island sometime during the greener part of the year, as I wanted to capture some images of spring-rich rolling hills and vibrant Sunflowers.  Well…we didn’t make it back during the greener time of the year, but the Sunflowers were still thriving, despite the golden brown hills that spoke of a very dry summer out on the island.

My second son and his son….

Beautiful Sunflowers with the Wasatch Mountains in silhouette in the background….

If you’re not familiar with Antelope Island, it is the largest of several islands out in The Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA.

My daughter (in-law), wife of my son mentioned above….

You might remember this tree stump from a couple of earlier posts….

The Pronghorn Antelope from which the island gets its name….

Grandson and my little one (on the right)….

This last shot was actually taken out on the seven-mile-long causeway that leads from the mainland out to Antelope Island….

More to follow….